Witness Activity For The Day! Doubling My Witness Running Costs + I Am Now Listed on The Steemit.com Witness Voting Page + @jerrybanfield Retires His Witness Server!

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

I've had a busy few days in the Steem witness arena, fixing up my server after the recent blockchain freeze and resulting upgrade/patch - plus now choosing a new server supplier to host my backup server. This means double the financial cost for me to run these machines, so I run the risk of going into losses again running as a witness. I'll be putting in extra time to get more votes and serve the community here as best I can to back that up!

More to come on the new server soon, once it's finalised and set up.

Latest News and Moves In the World of Witnessing


After significant pressure from a few of us witnesses, the list of witnesses shown on the voting page at Steemit.com has been increased from 50 to 100 - which is a bonus for me as I am now included in that list for the first time. This will definitely help me gain more votes and to cover the costs of my new dual server setup.

bigger witness voting page

It's important that ideally all witnesses can be seen in this list since many users would never know there were more witnesses to vote for than the top ones shown otherwise. I still think it is more fair to show more witnesses (like 150-200), but at least 100 is an improvement!

Jerry Banfield Retires!


I noticed that @jerrybanfield's witness was disabled a surprisingly long time and checked his profile page to find out that he has actually retired! He says he isn't passionate about running a witness server any more and wants to spend more time making music and thinks it is fairer to give the witness rewards to other witnesses who have more interest in being an active witness. He actually paid someone else to run his server and I don't think he necessarily had that much intention of getting involved with the mechanics of the situation anyway. So kudos to Jerry for turning down a significant monthly income from that top position in favour of maybe helping Steem's top witness positions to be filled by those with more spark for the role.

There have been a few moves and changes in the witness list recently and I am keen to do what I can to grab the attention of those with enough SP to move me up some places. Once I am receiving a more significant payout from the situation, I will be able to invest more significant time and resources into developing for Steem and probably also launching an entirely new Steem powered website. If you know of anyone with significant Steem Power who wants to support the evolution of the Steem eco-system with a vision for longer term, sustainable growth - then I'd love it if you would point them my way. I am more than happy to answer any questions. My original Witness Application includes a wealth of information on my background and some of my skills.

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!
Don't forget, there are more than the 50 witnesses you see on the witness voting page in steemit.com)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

really its so marvelous and fentastic news for becoming an witness ..thanks for your strategy ...i support you and i will vote for you as witness dear ..

Wishing you well too it's great having you in there, I trust your ways really and I know you going to do a lot to assist the community at large. With the enough sp I guess if and only I could get in touch to you would be better. Thanks.

You've got my vote, for what little it's worth, because of your involvement and the way you interact even with us little guys. I hope the list extension does help and that you continue to work your way up the list.

I was surprised by Jerry's stepping back from witnessing, but I guess it does make sense. Hopefully his votees will move their votes rather than just leave them hanging.

Would you by any chance know what is happening with ocd-witness? I see they've been disabled since the freeze. I'm hoping it's just that they haven't updated yet and not permanent.

My SP has doubled since I started keeping track 2 months ago. From 60 something to 130 something. Does the witness vote thingamajig know you now have more? Sorry it didn't go up ten fold, but it is what it is...

  • Thanks for all you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75