The Birth of a Lioness: Motherhood and Self-Transformation

Life is a kaleidoscope. Ever changing, so complex…


I believe we live many lives within one human lifetime, as well as many human lifetimes in the lives of our souls. Whatever you believe, my guess is you’ve been through events that have changed who you are as a person, and perhaps braved physical changes as well.

Being human is an ever-unfolding journey. This post is about honouring that journey.

stained glass

Three-and-a-bit years ago, I gave birth to twins. They are healthy, beautiful, and intelligent. I’ve been doubly blessed, and I am so grateful.

And it’s been a rough road.

I didn’t feel like a lioness when I came into motherhood (maybe a very beat-up lioness), but these days I’m feeling stronger.

Becoming a mother is stepping over a threshold into a new identity, and it is a very physical transition as well. The mental, emotional, physical, and yes, spiritual changes that happen to every woman who becomes a mother are underestimated and underappreciated by many cultures and especially western societal norms.

Every woman’s journey is different, just as every man has a different journey becoming a father. I can only speak about my own experience, but I believe there are universal truths in every story. Here is part of mine.

lioness-strength.jpg

How many you got in there?


When you’re pregnant, everyone asks you: 1) “When are you due?” 2) “Do you know what it is?”

With me, when I informed them my due date was many months away, some people would come back with the question, “How many you got in there?”

For a while, I told them, convincingly, “Just one,” and waddled away breathing heavy. I was due in the fall, and, no, I wasn’t going to find out what sex the child would be. I declined all of the “normal” ultrasounds and tests, preferring to allow my star child freedom to grow.

Nature knows what she’s doing. If my midwife thought there was a reason to get something checked out, I told her I’d go. Everything proceeded normally, other than the fact that my belly was huge. But I’m only 5-feet tall. Little woman, big belly!

When I was 34 weeks, my midwife listened to one side of my belly, then the other. She felt around, focusing intently. Then she looked at me and smiled.

“I hear a heartbeat there,” she pointed at one side, “and a heartbeat there.” She pointed at the other side. “And there are lots of little limbs in there. I think you have two!”

I was excited. Seriously, I was overjoyed. I knew twins were a possibility, given they run in both sides of the family, and I was really, truly happy about it.

I wanted two children, as close together as possible. The universe provided.

Careful what you ask for, eh?

34 weeks2.jpg
This was me at 34 weeks. I still had 5 weeks to go!!!

Every birth is sacred.


I don’t even know how women choose to give birth again and again. I’m not going to go into much detail about my birth story, but I’ll say a few things.

I pretty much read two books: Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth by Ina May Gaskin, and Natural Hospital Birth by Cynthia Gabriel. Those books were hugely helpful.

I had a birth plan, a doula, a midwife, a TCM friend who did acupressure for me and was massive moral support, and an obstetrician. And my man, of course, who had to deal with my nails biting into his hands for hours on end. I apologized afterwards, but I didn’t have it in me to feel sorry for him, cause he’s the one who wanted kids and ohmyfuckingGod did it hurt!

I survived 16.5 hours of life-splitting agony, gave birth to two sons naturally, and got the biggest private hospital room available. The “twin room.” One nurse told me she was amazed I’d had given birth to twins without pain meds or intervention — apparently that doesn’t happen often.

After giving birth, I felt like I’d been run over by a semi-truck that had backed up and run me over again to finish the job. I was dead-tired, but had two tiny, helpless earthlings to keep alive.

The nurses helped some, and my parents came by for a few hours each day. My man was there when he could be, but he was working on the house, getting our bedroom windows swapped out before we brought the kids home (I will save you the very long rant about home renovation that goes with this part of the story).

The first night in the hospital, the kids’ father had such a bad sleep on the hospital cot that he was no help whatsoever, and I didn’t need another child to care for (sorry babe), so I sent him home. I figured at least one of us should be getting a good night’s sleep.

So I was on my own, trying to figure out how to be a mother. Even when a father is there the whole time, as supportive as possible, I still think a woman walks much of her path alone, trying to rediscover herself in this new life of motherhood.

Birth is sacred. It is miraculous. And it can break a woman even in the best scenerios.

Becoming a mother is taking the pieces of who you were and putting yourself back together.

savasana-ocean.jpg

Whose body is this?


So, yeah, I was in the hospital for 5 days, alone through the night, but for the odd nurse check-in, trying to nurse these little humans. I learned how to change a diaper quickly, and loved cuddling them close, yet my body was so messed up!

Everything hurt. I was dead tired, but hormones kicked in and I did my best to care for my babies. I could hardly breathe when I stood up, my internal organs massively confused with the sudden space. My once-beautiful, flat belly had become a mess of stretched skin and split abdominal muscles. It was hard to look at myself in the mirror. I had aged years in a matter of days.

We took the twins home, and my body slowly healed.

S-L-O-W-L-Y.

In fact, my body is still healing, now, more than three years later.

The process continues…


One of the hardest parts of motherhood, for me, has been letting go of who I used to be. The depression and anxiety that was mostly under control before having kids had a heyday with my new and confused hormones. I’m doing well these days, but I have to be vigilant to keep myself from the downward spiral.

I’ve worked hard to keep my self-talk kind, and I don’t compare myself to who I used to be as often, but there was a real process of mourning my old self. I’m not even sure I’m finished mourning the death of who I was, before I became a mama lion.

I was an athlete. Before having kids, I was so strong! And so driven! But I was also burnt out. I quit teaching yoga to have children, but my adrenals were already taxed from pushing myself so hard. Even now, my body is still depleted.

It is time to self-nurture.

meditating-mt-robson-small.jpg

I don’t teach much yoga these days, it takes a lot of energy when I don’t have much extra to give. I have to be careful with myself. I can’t do what I used to do. It feels limiting, and that’s a tough pill for this free spirit to swallow.

But I’m grateful for all I know. Yoga helped me through massive postpartum depression, and has helped me recover physically, along with physio exercises. After three years, my abdominal muscles are almost back to where they should be, and my body is much stronger.

But I still feel fragile. And that’s hard.

So I keep going to my mat. I keep turning to the guiding principles of yogic philosophy and other big-picture perspectives I’ve gathered from various places (shamanism, energy healing, Taoism, etc.)

I keep coming home to Mother Earth, and coaxing myself to embrace who I have become.

k with lion.jpg

Being a mother of young kids means part of my mind is constantly focusing on the kids—are they safe, do they need me? It means functioning with long-term sleep deprivation while trying to raise good humans.

And it means letting go of who I was to embrace who I have become.

Motherhood is a journey, one that continues to evolve. I wrote this post as a reminder to honour the transformations in your own life, and to acknowledge the rebirth that happens when a woman becomes a mother.

Take care of yourself. You are a gift.

Peace. @katrina-ariel

lioness

#teamcanada #teamusa #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #thealliance


Author bio: Katrina Hokule’a Ariel is an old-soul rebel, a musician, a tree-hugging yogini and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders and other books, she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


the alliance

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

I honor you for your journey, thank you for sharing.
I am not yet a mother but I know I will be someday, reading your story and hearing stories from other women like you, as well as witnessing my own friends and family become mothers, i learn so much.
Glad to be connected and continue to follow your journey,
Blessings to you and your family!

Thank you so much! It's a transformational journey, for sure, and I think we owe it to each other as weomen to share the hard bits as well as the joy, to be real, and honest, and not pretend that it's easy 'cause it isn't. But it's worth it! My very best to you on your own journey, however it unfolds. :)

Thank you! There is a sentence I often say to myself, and to others, as a reminder not to judge or shame ..."it isn't easy being a parent." the struggle is real and largely because there is such a lack of community support. It is amazing to see the strength of women and the transformation that is possible through raising children! What a gift each child is, as we all are gifts to each other <3

Thank you so much for sharing this part of yourself with us. I don't think I ever stopped to think about, or mourn the loss of, my old self - let alone appreciate her, lol. A new mother has little time to think (let alone sleep), and yes our focus shifts considerably and almost instantaneously post-birthing.
But it is so worth it. :)

It is worth it, you're right. I guess some of us mourn the old self more than others, lol! Thank you for reading. :)

The mourning comes with comparing your life to then & now.. you look at your pictures from then & then look in the mirror now... & think.... what the hell happened to me LOL

Truth! Laughter and tears in the same moment. :)

And the intense desire for a time machine ...

Your story was so moving for me to read, I actually teared up :-). glad you have the wisdom to see so clearly and to take good care of and support yourself and your little ones through this massive life change(s). Glad I saw your post on steemsugars!!

Aw, thank you so much for caring. It's a more personal story than I usually post, and I held a lot back, but I think it's important to acknowledge the changes that motherhood brings. I'm so glad you saw the post as well, and am grateful you took the time to read it. Blessings!

I hear you. It is a rebirth when we become mothers. We have to completely reinvent ourselves and some parts of us that have to change are very difficult to change. As an aerialist and dancer (as well as many other things), it was very important for me to keep strong and fit after the births of my children. It was hard to find the time to be able to zone into that concentrated yoga time and was very frustrating. Baby yoga, though sweet, did not cut it! I couldn't do any exercise at home infact for years without being crawled all over and my attention being demanded. However time passes before you know it and we are back to having space for ourselves. I find I am stronger than ever before because I now value my time so much more.

I feel myself going through a lot of this right now.. Especially the mourning of my old self. I feel like she’s gone already & I day dream of after I give birth that I can be able to bring her back. Really I don’t think that’s best though, I have been through & learned a lot about myself this whole year. Not sure how my temperature may be once My lil One is here actively outside of my belly. Mostly I know I want my body back, taking care of it & primping myself just like I used to. I always told myself I would never be those women that let themselves go after they have babies. I want to stay young and vibrant as I should. I feel my Pisces baby will add to that once’s they are here.

I wish you the best with the birth and the journey motherhood brings! Mine sure didn't look how I thought it would, and took me way longer to recover than I expected. Whatever happens, keep loving yourself as you are. I know you will, @esaia.mystic. Your baby is so lucky to have you as a mother!!!

So Happy ! #Womenspeakout just got A super boost ⭐️

I felt like I’d been run over by a semi-truck that had backed up and run me over again to finish the job

I know it hurt and I should feel sorry .. But I just couldnt stop myself from laughingbecause of how you describe it 🤣

A post like this would make us remember what our mom suffered for us and remind us to try and pay them back even 1% of everything they did, they gave and they went through for us 😊

lol! Laugh. It's okay. Life hurts sometimes, but I'm a firm believer in laughter healing our wounds. Thanks so much for reading, for caring, and YES, be good to the mamas in your life. :)

Congratulations @katrina-ariel, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3753 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5378.95. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

It’s a beautifully written article. Being a mom myself, I can relate to all the emotions you felt. People always say your life will change with kids, but boy, do they change. Every moment is worth it....but what I would give to have a full night of sleep again. And you have twins!

Oh the sleep deprivation. lol! Thanks so much for reading. You're right, people say your life will change, but it really doesn't prepare you for how much! My very best to you and your family. Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. :)

It is very nice to read personal posts. In the age, when the noise caused by the surrounding world is hard hear your heart's voice, where your intuition is quietly speaking. To feel myself and others, the only way is to become very presonistic, intimate. It requires courage and wisdom. It's good that there are people like you who show the way and inspire others. Thank you for that. So I'll be your follower, doing it with great interest. Thank you once more.

Thank you. Blessings!

Wow! How I enjoyed reading your story! I really feel you. I havent had twins but have 2 kids. I know the feeling of ''loosing' your old self. That was the hardest part for me. After having my 1st no one prepared me for that feeling , especially with all the hormones going wild😄 and suddenly being so overprotective of a new helpless human being that YOU are in charge of!
I know itll sound funny but I loved the way you expressed the feeling after giving birth: "like being run over by a semi-truck that had backed up and run me over again to finish the job" 😉!
Thank you for sharing!
U look great by the way 😊💪👍

I think if you have kids — one child, two, twins, or more — it can be a rough road any way you look at it. A blessed one, for sure, and I am grateful, but it's important to acknowledge the other side of things, too. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, and that it resonated with you. Also, most of the pics I post are from before my pregnancy. I don't get in front of the camera much now, but I don't look that different... just a handful of years older, lol! The last one of me with the lion is more recent. I love that lioness statue. :) Thanks so much for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97