Phase 1 complete on my wife's birthday gift

in #woodworking6 years ago

Hi all.

So I decided to give my wife the vintage dragonfly necklace that I picked up at the thrift shop the other day, for her birthday!

See post if you missed it
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@fat-elvis/treasure-hunt-some-silver-aquired

DQmQrhmbnkiPzj1y11XaMqzQL38b8aEZQ9ywc3AVQunLJis.jpeg

Now I know what you're thinking...

The ladies are thinking, "what! junk store jewelry for her birthday? Are you mad?"

And the dudes are thinking, "brilliant! Why waste money on over priced jewelry!"

Well, you're both right, it would be a bit daft to just hand over the necklace, because if it's not in a jewelry store box, she'd know right away I got it for a deal, or free, or something like that!

So I'm gonna use some of my modest skills and make a nice box for it.

So here we go... 1 block of African Zebrawood.
IMG_20180511_172730.jpg

Cut some slices

IMG_20180511_172736.jpg

Fitted with sanding and glued together. Made a walnut lid for it as well.

IMG_20180511_182851.jpg

A lot of hand sanding later...

IMG_20180511_195731.jpg

Then some Old English oil

IMG_20180511_200218.jpg

IMG_20180511_200234.jpg

So there's phase 1. I'll be lining it with red felt, and will make it hinge open, somehow.

Not a bad evening of progress though, so I'm happy. Not free though, the Zebrawood cost me about $15.00! Spendy stuff!

Anyway, stay tuned for phase 2, same fat time, same fat channel...

Cheers everyone

DQmTbcNsNfCBxMJcwzs4HvyvDgBZ6BtdDf7gVQ1GpdFBHYo.jpg

Sort:  

very cool project and a nice brooch!

Thanks Madstacks. Part 2 is up posted as well.

Nice work man!

Thanks buddy! Hope she likes it!

whoa super nice and cant wait to see the rest of the phases!

Thanks ES! I was thinking it's such a nice pendant, I should put it on a better chain, which I have many of, and maybe see if I can set a better stone, if I have a piece with a stone that size.

hi! i like the chain its simple but if it ferls too thin in your hands upgrading will make it feel better when worn. whats the stone right now? if you have a better stone maybe her birthstone?

Also, do you think this is a good birthday gift? I may also carve a dragonfly in the lid, that seems like a good idea to me...

its a beautifull gift FA! :) shes gonna love it, especially if you carve a DF on it. the box is lovely.

I'll try today, I haven't done much carving, but I'll give it a go!

no kidding? thought you were gonna go with simple and nothing for right now? what did you end up doing?

Ended up not carving it. Ran out of time!!

hahah back and forth ... hey it looks amazing and i can't wait to hear what she thought and the look on her face. :)

She seemed pretty happy I guess... Maybe not overly impressed with the jewelry though 😥.

Well, can't always get it right! Maybe next year...

Cheers

That would be pretty nice. I'm sure she'll love both the necklace and the beautiful box that you put your thought, time and effort into.

I think so too. Thanks!

Good idea. You are not only giving her a material gift, you are giving her a part of you: your time, your effort and your love.

Thanks Ronaldo! I think she'll like it...

Simple but great idea! Looks really nice.

Thanks! I just posted about finishing it today. I'm pretty happy how it turned out

EXCELLENT and interesting!! (just put up market rep.) think you'll appreciate..and THANKS.!

Love it buddy! I’mma big fan!

image.jpg

Nicely done my friend👍

Thanks buddy. I'll be making it a bit better yet, hopefully!

I’m sure you will, if you ever need some help just let me know.👍

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05