CUSTOM BUILT SITKA SPRUCE DOOR NUMBER THREE!

in #woodworking6 years ago

IMG_0285.jpg

Hi guys, so this is the follow up to the loft construction post. My wife calls this our hobbit door, because it is five foot tall by thirty inches wide. I normally draw up plans when I build, but for this loft it just naturally progressed. So this loft has storage below, wired with switched lights and outlets and in this picture you can see the " Puck DC Led lights." I very carefully drilled self- concealing holes for the wires to run inside the loft to a DC transformer on a wall plug, that are all controlled by the two outside switches.
The door is all Sitka Spruce, and I found the metal cross bars on clearance on line from HomeDepot. This turned out to be a very enjoyable build and the hobbit door closes with a solid thunk!

Off to the left is the 4x12 Douglas Fir top step that I talked about in my last post. These steps will spiral down around a black steel pole. I am getting ready to do the entry floor tile, and then the laminate wood floor around this loft. I figured I would never be able to lay flooring under these spiral stairs so......... no stairs till I finish with the flooring. @silvertop better get moving, the wife loves this loft but doesn't like going up a temporary ladder anymore!!

I hope you liked this update...... on to the floor tile!!! @silvertop :)

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Very nice Thank you! :)

You've done a great job here and I think your wife ought to be proud of you.

Thank you so much! :)

howdy sir silvertop! I've done quite a bit of remodeling and this door looks excellent in quality, fit and style, super nice!

I am retired so this is my world, behind my better half! LOL :)

howdy sir silvertop..oh you're retired in the country, woods, mountains?

are you retirement age or did you strike it rich along the way?

Timing was right and things just worked out. :)

howdy again sir silvertop! oh that's wonderful and I hope that steemit can be a great retirment plan for us in a few years too!

I think we are in the beginning times of Steemit. We might have a bumpy ride, but Steemit I think will be big. Hang on😎

ok sir silvertop from your mouth to God's ears, I hope you're right! But they do need to up the rc a little more for the new and small accounts, I know of 6 people who have dropped out because they couldn't do anything and didn't have money to fund their account.

Now that's a good lookin door

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05