WORD POETRY CHALLENGE #1: GREEN LEAVES

in #wordchallenge6 years ago (edited)

image
I want to be great, greater than my parents and forefathers,
I want to make an impact in my world and be remembered as a legend filled with great and good works,
I want to be a mentor and grand mentor.
But how can I achieve all these greatness if i am not willing to pay the price?
How do I make a difference if I'm not willing to make good use of my youthful strength?
image
I have the strength and vigor to change the world, but I'm I willingly to sacrifice?
My youth, just as the green leaves, encompassed with growth and vitality,
The best time to invest in myself and use my energy for the right reasons.
Each day that passes, draws me closer to my grave,
Year in year out, I get older and weaker
I could feel my vigor decreasing and that's an obvious sign of old age.

image
Credit
But I made up my mind to be ever green as the green leaves even in my old age
I am going to invest my strength in the right places,
I am going to read as many books as I can,
I am going to seek for knowledge and gather all I can in my youth.
My ability to make an impact to society, my ability to be a problem solver in my world is what makes me green and not my age.
I might look old, face wrinkled, waist bent, teeth gone, but my knowledge and good works will speak for me,
even in death, I will forever be greener forever and always.

1st and 2nd photo taken by me @ the American University Of Nigeria, Yola ADAMAWA STATE
image
I want to say thank you to @jassennessaj for this opportunity to participate in this contest. I also want to use this medium to invite you to take part in this contest via this link. Thanks for the read

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11