"Word Poetry Challenge # 1: Green Leaves"

Introduction: This poem is originally inspired by our recent trip to the islands of Batanes. And we tried to inculcate the idea of Green Leaves as well. My bf @zanytoutists and I tried to do teamwork with creating the poems and it is his work. This is our entry for @jassennessaj word challenge poetry. Hope you'll enjoy reading. :)


C360_2018-03-14-16-31-37-234.jpg


           “Green Leaves”

This is a poem about keeping wonderful
memories and wanting to go back to the
beautiful island of Batanes

Green leaves I took with me
Trying to keep a memory
Of one wonderful journey

Hand-picked, Crème de la crème
One for each day on a weeks term
Though now wilted and fell of the stem
Still I will treasure like a gem

It’s been a while
And I’m still longing with a smile
For this isle

With your natural beauty
And people that are oh so lovely
You beguiled my heart
Though we’re oceans apart

In this concrete jungle
I tried to mingle
But nothing is comparable, not a single

I came back to this city
Of colors black and grey
Though filled with lights some are pretty
But I am missing a lot completely

Oh Green Leaves
From the isles of Batanes
I shall come back to you
And gaze upon your wonderful view

P.S. The photo is mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85