Art Word of the Day: Lead glaze

in #wordoftheday5 years ago

Term: Lead glaze

Definition: A vitreous coating applied for

practical and ornamental purposes to earthenware, consisting of powder of lead oxide with POISONOUS!silacious sand, salt and potash which fuses when fired. It is transparent but color can be added. Because of lead's toxicity, lead glazes must never be used on surface which might ever contact food, drink, or a mouth; and containers of lead glazes must be labeled with such warnings. All glazes should be labeled to reflect their lead and cadmium content. The following chart describes six different types of ceramic glazes, each carrying levels of concerns about lead content, in order to help you to determine which are safe to use on dinnerware ? vessels for food or drink.1. Dinnerware safe. Contains no lead.2. Dinnerware safe. Contains some lead, but passes release tests.3. Contains lead. Not recommended for surfaces which contact food or drink.4. Contains no lead. Not recommended for food because of soft nature of the glaze.5. Contains no lead, but does not pass lead and cadmium release due to soft nature of the glaze.6. Contains lead bearing ingredients. We do not recommend these glazes on surfaces that contact food or drink.A similar criterion should be followed whenever glazes contain the toxic element cadmium.Also see ceramics, glaze, poison, and vessel.



Art Word of the Day


Every day I make an attempt to add a little bit more art knowledge to the Internet, one word at a time. Realizing there aren’t many comprehensive and complete online art dictionaries, I set out on a mission to compile my own.


Please be sure to check out these other projects



Learn how I will upvote your art and music posts daily




SteemAX helps minnow content-creators and whale curators by automating an exchange of upvotes between their quality blog posts, allowing both 1 to 1 as well as disproportional exchanges that grant bigger curations, better support than a bid bot, and the long-term support they both deserve.

Watch this video to learn more

Sort:  

Thank you artopium! You've just received an upvote of 100% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you artopium! You've just received an upvote of 63% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72