Art Word of the Day: Lintel

in #wordoftheday5 years ago

Term: Lintel

Definition: In architecture, a horizontal beam

of any material spanning an opening, usually between two walls or posts.Examples: Egypt, 1878-1843 BCE (12th Dynasty), Lintel of Sesostris III, Medamoud Temple, limestone bas-relief, 1.065 x 2.21 m, Louvre. Although lintels are usually treated as merely functional, and often hidden, they are occasionally emphasized, as this one was. See rectangle.France, Christ in Majesty, lintel at the church of Saint-G?nis-des-Fontaines, 1019-1020, Romanesque, carved stone.



Art Word of the Day


Every day I make an attempt to add a little bit more art knowledge to the Internet, one word at a time. Realizing there aren’t many comprehensive and complete online art dictionaries, I set out on a mission to compile my own.


Please be sure to check out these other projects



Learn how I will upvote your art and music posts daily




SteemAX helps minnow content-creators and whale curators by automating an exchange of upvotes between their quality blog posts, allowing both 1 to 1 as well as disproportional exchanges that grant bigger curations, better support than a bid bot, and the long-term support they both deserve.

Watch this video to learn more

Sort:  

Thank you artopium! You've just received an upvote of 3% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you artopium! You've just received an upvote of 100% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62