Music Word of the Day: 12-bar blues

in #wordoftheday6 years ago (edited)

Term: 12-bar blues

Definition: One of the most well-know

chord progressions in popular music of the 19th century and later. Countless jazz and popular songs have been composed within the structure of this series or progression of chords.The basic blues progression uses 3 chords - the Tonic ( I) or the chord that the song is centered on, the Dominant ( V) or the chord based on the fifth step of the Tonic scale, and the Subdominant ( IV) or the chord based on the fourth step of the Tonic scale. In the example below, we use the key of F major. Thus the Tonic is F, the Dominant is C and the Subdominant is B-flat.There is a cadence starting in measure 9 going from the Dominant ( V) to the Subdominant ( IV) finally to the Tonic ( I) in measure 11. There are many variations on this cadence and may be V -IV -I or V -I or II -V -I, etc.General Elements of the 12-bar Blues progression:The progression is 12 measures long.The 5th measure is typically the Subdominant ( IV chord), or the chord based on the fourth step of the Tonic scale.sThe 9th measure begins a cadence progressing to the Tonic ( I chord).



Music Word of the Day


Every day I make an attempt to add a little bit more music knowledge to the Internet, one word at a time. Realizing there aren’t many comprehensive and complete online music dictionaries, I set out on a mission to compile my own.


Please be sure to check out these other projects




Visit Artopium.com a website dedicated to helping artists sell their works.

Read "What is Artopium?" on Steemit


Help Support Artopium & ArtoLabs

I'm asking all my friends and supporters to consider downloading the new Brave Browser as way of helping me to raise capital for Artopium & ArtoLabs. This costs you absolutely nothing, but I get a referral reward if you use Brave. I wrote this very comprehensive article about this here:

https://steemit.com/brave/@artopium/support-artopium-using-brave-browser


Contact Me

I'm "Mike-A" on the Artopium Discord server.

Or visit my website mike.artopium.com







Some helpful articles I've written here on Steemit

How To Sell Your Artistic and Musical Works For Cryptocurrencies! ~ A Step by Step Guide

How To Steemit 101 ~ An Artist’s Guide ~ (OR How To Sell Your Art & Music For Crypto Part II)

I Admit: I Use The Upvote Bots (And Here’s Why)

How To Protect Your Work And Make More Money Selling Art, Music, Fashion, Video & Books!!

An Artists Guide To Making The Most Of Steemit

Learn How To Lawfully Sell Your Art & Music On The Sidewalk (Without A Permit)



Sort:  

Hello, artopium, upvoted and resteemed! Reply with 'STOP' to end this madness.

Want @ArtTurtle to follow you too and upvote and resteem your art, music, fashion, video and books? Find out how by visitng @artturtle and reading the latest report.

Congratulations @artopium! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87