Music Word of the Day: Break

in #wordoftheday5 years ago (edited)

Term: Break

Definition: The point of change in

the quality of tenor, alto, and soprano voices (a genuine bass has no break). The lower range is called voce di petto or chest voice, the upper, voce di testa or head voice. In a properly trained voice, the break should be practically imperceptible.In the clarinet, flute, recorder, or other wind instrument, the place between the lower register of the instrument and the higher. For example, the break on the clarinet is between B-flat and B-natural in the treble clef.An imperfectly formed tone on the horn, trumpet, or clarinet.



Music Word of the Day


Every day I make an attempt to add a little bit more music knowledge to the Internet, one word at a time. Realizing there aren’t many comprehensive and complete online music dictionaries, I set out on a mission to compile my own.


Please be sure to check out these other projects



Learn how I will upvote your art and music posts daily




SteemAX helps minnow content-creators and whale curators by automating an exchange of upvotes between their quality blog posts, allowing both 1 to 1 as well as disproportional exchanges that grant bigger curations, better support than a bid bot, and the long-term support they both deserve.

Watch this video to learn more

Sort:  

Thank you artopium! You've just received an upvote of 100% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71