A warning to me: my English is not as good as I expect! 糟了!英語不夠用

in #work5 years ago (edited)

In the past, although I knew my English was not good, there was no difficulties in daily conversation with foreigners. Until I started my new work, I wanted to improve my English especially in listening so as to adopt to the enviroment. A week ago, I wrote a post introducing VoiceTube, an excellent English learning website for Chinese and I started to watch one video a day.

在過去,雖然我自知英語不佳,但一直以來和外國人溝通都沒有什麼問題,直到我開始新工作後,為了適應新環境,我希望改善我的英語尤其是聆聽能力。上星期我寫了一篇文章介紹VoiceTube,一個十分適合中文人士寫習英語的網站,我也開始每天在VoiceTube看一段影片。

Screen Shot 2018-11-05 at 16.57.30.png

I started with beginner video and soon found it’s not challenging for me soon. So today, I tried to watch a BBC lifestyle video and see how much I can get it. Holy shit! When I first watched the video without any subtitles, I could only get 30% and had no idea what the video is talking about in general! My listening skill is much worse than what I expected! It is the link and you can try it also: 為什麼萬聖節要刻南瓜? (Halloween: How did we fall in love with pumpkins? - BBC News) - VoiceTube《看影片學英語》

一開始我看的都是初階英語,很快就覺得沒有挑戰性了,所以今天我嘗試看一條BBC的生活類影片,看看我到底懂多勳。但當我第一次看沒有字幕的版本時,糟了!我只能聽懂30%的內容,整個影片的大意我完全拿不準!原來我的聆聽能力比我想像還要差!這是我看的影片,你也來試一下吧: 為什麼萬聖節要刻南瓜? (Halloween: How did we fall in love with pumpkins? - BBC News) - VoiceTube《看影片學英語》

Screen Shot 2018-11-05 at 16.55.17.png

Then I watch the video with subtitles and found that I knew 95% of the words. The only problem is the British accent! I am strange to British accent and that’s why I can’t understand the video! Then I searched for the web to see how to practise listening more efficiently. The only conclusion is keep listen and listen…..

I found an article of Tang Wei, a famous Chinese actress. She studied in UK for half year without knowing any English. She put herself in a complete English environment and keep listening English during transport, preparing meal, brushing teeth, and even sleeping. After half year, she became a fluent Eng speaker.

然後我打開字幕再看,發現其實我懂95%以上的字,最重要的問題是我聽不懂英國口音......然後我就上網看看如何更有效練習聆聽技巧,得出的唯一結論是,不斷聽斷聽.....

我也找到一篇關於湯唯的文章,她曾在英國讀書半年,那時她完全不懂英語,所以她把自己放在一個完全的英語環境,她在坐車時、煮飯時、刷牙時、甚至睡覺時都不停在聽,不停在聽,半年後,她已能說得一口流利英語。

maxresdefault.jpg

Tang Wei 湯唯

So I believe I can do the same thing. Although I can’t practice 24 hours, I can try to watch and watch Eng video in bus, in MTR, at home…etc. It’s now my first target and please support me!

所以我相信我也能做到,雖然我不能24小時練習,但我也可在坐車時,或在家時多看多說,現時這是我的首要目標,希望我能盡快有成!

Thanks for spending your time to read my articles. I like to share stories of Hong Kong. I wish you may support me and I will keep going!
謝謝你能抽空閱讀這篇文章,我平日喜歡分享香港的故事,希望大家多多支持,我會繼續努力!




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://aaronli.vornix.blog/a-warning-to-me-my-english-is-not-as-good-as-i-expect/

Sort:  

Accent is always a problem. Not just the Brits.

I don't need to speak like Brits or whatever but I need to be able to listen to them haha

And that's the not so easy part. :-)

Yes I hate brits accent😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

勤能补拙,加油啊,轮舞

Posted using Partiko Android

打算看英劇

嗯,我都系睇英国戏剧学英文(重点系无字幕)

想看黃秋生那部新英劇

Posted using Partiko iOS

你那里天气如何?来 @steemgg 玩游戏吧,决战到天亮假如我的留言打扰到你,请回复“取消”。

腔调能改吗?我认识个英国出生的香港朋友... 她自己说她在英国成长,依然天生香港腔啊……

不打算改腔調,只練聽

哈哈哈 我都用感觉... 听有时真的有点受不了
我是那种听歌不听歌词的

Try Japanese next 😝

haha actually I really plan to learn Japanese in the next round haha

我得向你学习。@teamcn-shop

Posted using Partiko Android

跟voicetube吧!

@kelvinzhang给您叫了一份外卖!

@pizzapai 批萨姐 迎着泥石流 开着汽车给您送来
美味的和牛

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~

Hi @aaronli!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.491 which ranks you at #1959 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 25 places in the last three days (old rank 1984).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 306 contributions, your post is ranked at #296.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78