Chronicles of Alan; Nauvoo Paving # 3 - by @awgbibb

in #work6 years ago

What has gone before:-https://steemit.com/life/@africaunited/chronicles-of-alan-nauvoo-paving-2-by-awgbibb

David has expanded his Business to include Durban and Cape Town Branches.

Chris S moves down to Durban and starts Running the Company down there!

Bit of instruction on doing Paving!

After sometime , we get a panic stricken Chris phoning our Krugesdorp Office,

I have no Money to pay the Guy's and cannot pay the Brick Bills either!

Dave transfers Money down there and asks me to fly down to Durban with him.

BTW , I have never been on a plane before!

No this is not the plane we flew in, but I liked the Picture!

We leave early the next morning from JHB and get to Durban mid-morning , Chris collects us at the airport , straight to the offices.

While Dave is speaking with Chris, I start going through the order Books with the associated Cheques ( understand, I am a self-confessed Genius)

" Right , I have found the problem , the Brick Company ( Concor I think) is overcharging you!"

David seems relieved, Chris says, "But you said I could change the Brick Company?"

I said "They are charging you R3.00 more per metre!"

Chris says he knows, I cannot believe this?

" Chris our Gross Profit is R3.50 per metre before expenses , you have not put up the pricing to cover the more expensive bricks you are ordering?, what did you expect to happen?"

Anyhow a quick lesson in basic economics, and yes Dave had agreed to change the brick company ( only because deliveries were quicker) but the small matter of the difference in price had never been mentioned!

Guess where all the future deliveries came from ?, Dave and I went to the Mykenos Restaurant in Durban , had a meal and flew home.

And Lived to Fight Another Day!

Video is courtesy of YouTube, Picture from Pixabay, not my property.

Sort:  

Wow.... it’s a fabulous technique of brick.... great work ... thanks for sharing this video... I am enjoying....

excellent video construction, it's a great job to be well finished, thank you very much dear friend @awgbibb for sharing this video
I wish you a great day

Best to double check prices, and make sure about prices, simple mistakes can make a BIG difference, thanks for sharing.

wow the skill that man has got was simply amazing who beautiful he arrange the bricks thanks for sharing @awgbibb upvoted!

Its good job nice working

My husband is also in the paving business - o it can be a headache sometimes - people not paying, raining when you must do work and now his business has never been so quiet - tough times but he has been doing it for almost 30 years so it is in his blood

The buildup with the bricks shown on the line how to make with stuff easy, great work.

wow.....amazing.... video. great job about your work..... enjoyable

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84