Nitpicking Nonsense

in #work5 years ago

If you've ever had to deal with humans you'll quickly realise feelings trump facts all day long and there is no logical argument to how people feel, it's ever-changing and in many ways can be so counterproductive its actually scary. When you're controlled by your feelings and don't ground what you say in logic you can quickly be whisked off to an echo chamber fantasy land where all you serve to do is frustrate those around you who simply cannot grasp your vision.

I'm not saying feelings are not important, I just feel if it is no guided and encouraged in a positive and constructive manner it is less than useless its actually having an adverse effect on your work and those around you.

The_Oatmeal_Web_Design.png
Image source PR Daily

Nitpicking is not constructive criticism

I totally understand that people want to be heard and feel they have contributed in some way but that doesn't mean that saying I agree or I am happy with what you've suggested means you have not been heard or have not contributed, if anything you've just given that person confidence and shown trust in their judgement. Which is essentially why you hire certain people who keep certain people around you because you value their insight and their abilities.

Yet I see it time and time again, people focusing on the smallest mundane detail that is of so little or no value that the energy it took to think of that and even raise the point was way more than the actual point would ever affect in the first place.

When we nitpick we not only slow down the rate at which tasks get done but we start to eat at the confidence and tolerance of others, we actively show that we don't respect them, their opinions or their expertise.

Focus on what really matters

If you feel like you want to nitpick you should really look at ways in which you can contribute more effectively and divert those energies into something more positive like encouraging the person or helping their idea along instead of pointing fingers and not lifting a hand to help.

Perhaps its time to stop nitpicking and starting picking each other up and picking up after one another instead?

Have your say

So what are your 2 cents on my latest brain fart? Do you agree or not? How do you handle people who nitpick and how do you stop yourself from nitpicking?

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

Hi @chekohler
Thanks for this post. I was reading it and at the end I saw the banner of smartvote in your footer. Do you use this service? Can it keep its promise with the 10x delegation upvote?
Best regards
Achim

Posted using Partiko Android

I’ve been using it for some time now and it’s kept its promise to me! I only delegate 75SP so I can’t speak for those who offer more than that

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wanted to point out that you bash feelings but then post a feeling! Just giving you shit lol

I find this happens whenever I work with a certain person. I do something for them and it will improve their work by 75% from current state but they find this obscure annoying little piece and complain about it. Drives me nuts! I wouldn’t have helped in the first place if I thought I would encounter that crap but now I’m stuck until the project is done. Those small things are a real thorn in my ass lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

lol even though I hate feelings I still feel, it’s one of life’s irony’s

I totally get that same experience to the T and I just grind my teeth and try to remember that they can trigger me but I’ll never let them figure me out!

Here’s to hoping I’ll always take the high road

Posted using Partiko iOS

Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chekohler from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 4.32% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.806 which ranks you at #4748 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 6 places in the last three days (old rank 4742).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 354 contributions, your post is ranked at #203.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76