How being lazy helped me achieve a lot

in #work6 years ago

adult-book-boring-267684.jpg

I'm a lazy person. I like to do only what I like, I love wasting my time playing video games and watching movies and I never want to be doing something that bores me for the sake of being productive. That's one of the main reason I chose to be a freelancer - I get to do what I want, when I want to.

The problem when it comes to working on something, or having a job, is that in a lot of situations, no matter how much you hate it, you still have to take care of a bunch of boring tasks. You still need to eat and pay bills, so you need to work on whatever you can and get some money at the end of the month.

So what can you do if you want to still be lazy while having to work? How can you finish everything faster and just do what you want to do without worrying about deadlines?

Well, the way I do it is by creating multiple systems or small habits that help me make my work a lot easier.

For example, today is Monday, once again, and I have to write around 10 articles for the entire week. Now, that requires me to spend some time thinking about what I want to write and how to share my thoughts and opinions with you. I could spend a few hours thinking about ideas and then a few more hours writing.

However, I already knew this would happen, so what I did, since I read often, is writing as many ideas as I got from reading all kind of articles on an agenda, just in case I need one in the future.

Now all I have to do is look at that agenda and at all those ideas whenever I feel like I don't know what article to write on Steemit, then figure out how to write the article and that's it - in a few minutes I can write around 400 - 500 or even more words using an idea I came up with a few days or weeks ago and be done with one article.

I also told you in the past how I use Photoshop Actions to make my work easier whenever I have to do something small but tedious, like changing the resolution of a few images. Instead of doing that for each image, I just did it once, used the Actions feature in Photoshop to script the process, and now all I have to do is press a button whenever I need to change the resolution of an image.

Same thing with publishing on Graphic River - why create a new Preview file every time I come up with a new design package, when I can just create one preview capable of being reused again and again and use it whenever I want to upload something on that website? That helps me save a lot of time.

Being lazy is not always a bad thing, especially if you use that to come up with better ways of working without investing too much effort into what you need to do. Who knows, laziness may even motivate you to learn things like programming in order to better automate certain tedious tasks.

Use your laziness in a smart way, come up with ways to do a lot without investing a lot of effort into your work, and automate as much as you can - in time, you will realize how much time and energy you save by not focusing too much of your attention on small and tedious activities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86