One hour of complete focus

in #work6 years ago

adult-business-businessman-618613.jpg

That's the least you should be aiming for whenever you need to work but don't feel like it.

We all experience those moments, some more often than others. We have to work, to make progress, to finish a project we've been working on for a long time, but websites like Facebook or Pinterest look a lot better, and who can spend time working when there are so many interesting videos on YouTube to be watched?

It's hard to look at an entire work schedule and try to motivate yourself thinking "Okay, so I need to spend that amount of time working and being fully focused on what I do without getting distracted by anything and anyone".

That's an easy thing to do when you have a normal job and you spend half a day in an environment filled with people who all work and are productive. You kinda get motivated to do the same.

However, when you have to write something for a website like Steemit, or if you're interested in learning a new skill like programming or drawing, that's a lot harder.

So, what should you do?

Well, something I do that seems to work really well is focusing on having one or two hours of complete focus a day, working and being productive in one or two areas, and then letting everything else for later, when I'm in the mood for work.

For example, the two main things I do every single day are writing and creating design elements. If I don't write 10 articles at the beginning of the week, then I have to write and publish two articles a day.

Besides that, I always need to upload something on Graphic River and Creative Market. Sometimes that's easy to do and I can finish in less than an hour. But more than often, that's not the case, and I need to work for at least two hours before uploading as many packages as I want to.

Depending on how good my day is and how many ideas I have, I can finish all that work in less than two or three hours, if I can focus enough and if I don't get distracted by anything. And that's what I try to achieve.

I close my browser, I make sure I won't receive any notification on my phone, and I just focus on working, trying my best to finish everything I have to do related to writing and design. And it usually works.

In two or three hours I'm done with those activities. Then I have an entire day at my disposal to draw, to work on side projects, to read and to learn new things. I can do all that whenever I want, be it at 6 PM or at midnight.

That's the easiest way I found to finish the most important tasks and be as productive as I can every day. I just take care of the hardest things by focusing on them for a few hours, and then I do everything else throughout the day, when I'm in the mood.

Learning what's the best way for you to work is important. Some people are able to work for 8 hours a day without needing any type of motivation, while others can barely focus for a few hours without getting distracted by something. Figuring out what type of person you are and what's the best way for you to work and focus on the most important tasks every day in order to make as much progress as possible is, in my opinion, the best way to be productive and to move forward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79