#deletefacebook: BUT WHY I STILL HAVE MY FACEBOOK ACCOUNT.

in #world6 years ago

I have not really been a fan of facebook from the start even though I have a facebook account. I joined facebook, I think six years ago and the reason I joined was because I was idle and bored, nothing to do, so joining facebook was to keep me busy. I still was not frequent on facebook even though I made the account to keep me busy because I really was not a fan of facebook. While other people logged in to facebook every second, I can say that I logged in to facebook on an average of twice a week. So you can now know much I was not a fan of facebook.



facebook-1903445__480.jpg
image source

But I must say that there are several things I found good about facebook........

1. News and Information: There are several news and informations that I can say that I have gotten first from facebook and this news and information had benefitted me. For example a friend of mine posted a fresh information about a job vacancy on facebook and so I saw it and because of this i was one of the first to apply for the job and I got the job. So one good thing about facebook is that you can be the first to get an information that can change your life.



2. A way to reconnect with long time friends. There are friends that I lost contact with after we finished from secondary and university together and I wanted to reconnect with them, but since I did not have any of their contact, I was not able to reunite with them. But been on facebook made it possible to reconnect with them. All I do is just to simply search for their names on facebook and several of them's profile show up and this really makes me happy that I get to see them after a long while. Seeing somebody after a very long time can really be amazing. So this is another thing I find good about facebook.



..............But what I really dislike about facebook is the strolls and pettiness on facebook...............


Any time I log on to facebook I keep seeing stroll here and there. You find people abusing other people in a petty way and this is something i see on the increase on facebook lately and so because of this I decided to reduce my activities on facebook drastically. Before I said that I log on to facebook twice a week but now I log on to facebook twice a month or so. In essence am saying that inspite of the fact that I don't log on to facebook very much before, it has even further reduced now.



My activities on facebook further reduced when I discovered steemit 😁😁. It even further reduced again recently when facebook was accused of mishandling people's data. This was what made people across the world to start deleting their facebook account and #deletefacebook started trending across the world. This really made me think of deleting my facebook account, but I have not yet deleted it because I get ideas from facebook of what to post about on steemit.



There are times when I run out of ideas on what to post about on steemit, I go to facebook and an idea of what to post about comes. So this is why is still have my facebook account. I believe that if facebook will die, it will die a natural death.

Sort:  

I left facebook nearly a decade ago and many of my friends did not understand why - now they do nearly ten years later. I felt betrayed a bit by Facebook way back in 2008 when they were altering terms that were highly unfavorable to their users in order to generate profit.

Billions of dollars later and countless betrayals of their users later, they are one of the largest platforms. I do not fault anyone for using it, however, I personally decided enough was enough for me.

Here's a fun graphic I made long ago when I left FB and went to the Google+ beta (later I amended for Steemit as this is where I am now):

I have no issue with Facebook users, only the company and their actions. I'm glad you are on Steemit, my friend. FB never let me earn a penny
✌️😉

Exactly facebook are selfish, they just took from users and never give back and that is another reason why I am starting to distance myself from facebook the more.

My reason to use Facebook from time to time is to find people whose contact details I have lost. I'm Facebook friends with a much larger number of people than I have phone numbers of.

I understand, so many other people use facebook to get people's contact. So I guess it does have a use somehow.

I deleted my facebook account about 7 months ago....best decision ever!

Hahahahaha!!!! OK @moonluna40. It is my turn now

Facebook is informative it depends on how you view it.but the only thing I do with Facebook it to look for my friends I lost their numbers,and I log in once a week.

👍👍👍👍

I have never really been a facebook fan too, i guess I created my account because "everyone was doing so", but I am hardly active over there.

I understand you @audreybits. Facebook really has nothing to offer.

Well, maybe not entirely nothing....

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Facebook connects with old time friends that's why I still use it.

I was also a fan of facebook from their name thefacebook. However, I deleted my account after they publish ads. As a result of publishing ads, I was sure they would share our sensitive data with governments and companies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17