💵⚽️[RESULTS] FIFA World Cup 2018: Round of 16 | Pre-match Trading ⚽️💵

in #worldcup6 years ago

Pre-match trading chart

Before reading, check out my original post: FIFA World Cup 2018: Round of 16 | Pre-match Trading

The Results

Note: I realised that counting P/L in "ticks" isn't so intuitive as % profit values differ at different odds ranges (you can test this on Arbcruncher's Back/Lay tool to see what I mean). Therefore, I will be using percentage profit/loss to stake figures going forward.

2nd July 20.00 CET: Belgium vs Japan

Selection: Over 2.5 @ 1.98*
Target price: 8 ticks @ 1.90
Stop-loss: 4 ticks @ 2.02
Risk-reward ratio: 2:1
Actual result: Exited @ 1.82 for +16 ticks (+8.6%, +£38.29)

Note: Only 91% of my stake was matched at 1.98, which reduced potential profit slightly. This can happen in fast moving markets, and in this case I decided not to back the remaining 9% at a lower price.

BELJPNO25_chart
The blue line is my entry point, and the green flat line is my exit point. I'm really happy with this trade as the low was 1.8 - I gave it chance to go lower, thinking it could go as low as 1.75, but when the trend seemed to reverse I exited at 1.82.

BELJPNO25_results

3rd July 16.00 CET: Sweden vs Switzerland

Selection: Sweden (Match Odds) @ 3.20
Target price: 20 ticks @ 3.00
Stop-loss: 10 ticks @ 3.30
Risk-reward ratio: 2:1
Actual result: Stop-loss hit @ 3.3 for -10 ticks (-3.1%, -£15.51)

SWESWI_results

I was pretty surprised by this being a loser to be honest, as Sweden seemed a good value underdog (and this was justified by their deserved 1-0 win in this game). Check out the chart though, as Sweden's price continued to drift to ~3.5, which shows how important it was for me to get out at my stop-loss of 3.30. Sorry I didn't manage to get a chart screenshot.

3rd July 20.00 CET: Colombia vs England

Selection: England (Match Odds) @ 2.16
Target price: 16 ticks @ 2.00
Stop-loss: 6 ticks @ 2.22
Risk-reward ratio: 2.67:1
Actual result: Stop-loss hit @ 2.22 for -6 ticks (-2.7%, £-13.50)

COLENG_chart
I was also a little surprised by this one, but in hindsight I suppose England hadn't played any good teams in the tournament, so people may have been doubting their favouritism status

COLENG_results

Overall: +2.9%, +£9.28 (+25.75% ROI on risked stake)

Not the biggest overall profit but considering I only managed a 1/3 strike rate, I'd say a profit is a pretty good result. Not only does this show the value of a good risk-reward ratio, but it also shows how important it is to let your winning trades run as much as possible. My target for the Belgium-Japan O2.5 was 1.90, but such was the momentum of the move, the price broke through this level quickly, and I managed to get an extra 8 ticks out of the trade. The two losing trades I managed to get out at my stop-loss, showing the discipline (that I promised I would) :).

In hindsight, I'd have made a lot more simply betting on these picks:

  • O2.5 in Belgium-Japan won easily (3-2)
  • Sweden won 1-0 deservedly
  • England were winning 1-0 deservedly until the 93rd min so a great trading opp if I took it inplay

However, I hope this has shown how we can make some low-risk returns by predicting price moves. If I can make a profit despite being quite "rusty" at this type of trading, then with practice, you can too! Just remember to make a plan, and stick to it. Why not try "paper trading" in a spreadsheet first to reduce your risk?

I'd love to hear your comments about this kind of trading, and if there's interest, I may look to make this a weekly feature in the top European leagues.

Adam (acelad)


Please upvote Upvote, resteem Resteem and follow if you enjoyed this content :)


Sort:  

Interesting stuff mate... good that you got any profit at all out of this World Cup! Hopefully the good old Premier League can be a little more predictable!

This post has received a 16.19 % upvote from @boomerang.

Congratulations @acelad! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@acelad you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @acelad! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @acelad! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72