Worlds Daily Food Photography Contest: "Tuesday Soup/Appetizer"

in #worldsdailyfood5 years ago (edited)

Ever wonder what is in this photo?

It's an arabic soup called MOLOKHIA
Corchorus Olitorius or simply a mallow,
in the Philippines it is called SALUYOT that seldom people will include the stuff in the table, the fact that leaves are slippery like saliva when boiled.
I was served a molokiah soup in Lebanon at the Markazia Monroe at Beirut, my first taste of a molokiah and,,,I could say it was an amazing experience with the staff out there and i was able to ask how they made that soup and found out that it is an easy-peasy recipe.
They say molokhia originates in ancient Egypt, I also got the chance to visit Alexandria and molokhia has a superb taste.
All you need is an onion, garlic cloves, olive oil, ground black pepper, chopped coriander leaves, boiled chicken breast
And saute it altogether then add a cup of water let it boil then again add the molokhia fresh leaves or even the frozen ones. Let it boil and blend altogether.
Serve together with the main course.
Here's an additional info about MOLOKHIA

Hi steemitverse,
This serves as my participation for @travelsbyblue's #worldsdailyfood #photography #contest and so with @mermaidvampire's #steemproof of work new game challenge.

Taken from my Samsung Galaxy Tab A6
Molokhia Soup
KSA

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I thought this was matcha at first glance. To be honest, I don't think I have seen saluyot. You are so brave to try something so vegetable-y like that. Hahaha!

I was hesitant to try it at first, I just couldn't believe that rich arabs in the gulf are having this molokhia in their table because in the Philippines this thing grows freely in the cornfields and only buffalos are munching the saluyot leaves., just dunno if there are some families are into this diet in PH, but in our place there's none I think and if there's any would they blend it?, I know that pinoy household wouldn't.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11