World's Daily Food Photgraphy Contest - Tuesday Soup/Appetizers - KBL

For today's entry I had a picture of both a soup or appetizer. But for today I will choose soup.

This is a KBL - Kadios-baboy-langka, a specialty in the Visayas especially in my hometown of Miagao. Kadios or black beans can be cooked fresh or dried. I like the dried better because it has more flavor. When I cook it I wash the beans then soak for a while preferably overnight. Soak it overnight then the next day boil until tender. I use firewood to boil it because using gas is expensive and firewood brings out the taste. It usually takes me the whole day to boil or simmer till tender. Then at night I boil on the gas stove with the pork (belly or feet or mixed). When tender I season to taste then add tanglad or lemon grass. Before serving (like for lunch), boil again and add the unripe langka or jackfruit.

This is my specialty, all my relatives and friends request me to cook this for family gatherings.

IMG_3387 - Copy.JPG

Good thing I was able to take a picture before it was finished. I cooked this for our fiesta here. The dried beans gives more flavor and color when boiled or simmered for a long time and the beans get soft.

KBL- Kadios-baboy-langka, picture taken with my iPhone7 in Miagao, Iloilo, Philippines.

36976865_1991332617606786_7219967121248223232_n.jpg

Sort:  

You got a 50.00% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @purpledaisy57!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86