Wildflower series - False Nasturtium

in #worldwildflora6 years ago (edited)

false nasturtium.jpg

Senecio oxyriifolius is an eye-catching little plant which grows along the bottom of the valley and at first I thought it was some sort of invasive weed but then I discovered that it is used as an indigenous medicinal plant as well as a groundcover garden plant, grown for its attractive leaves. Some people even keep these as pot plants and expose the rootstock, which gives it a bonsai appearance.

false nasturtium leaves.jpg
closeup of the leaves

I gave up trying to photograph the flowers as these had made an extremely long flower stem that didn't stop moving so I stole this image from the internet. The flowers are typical of Senecio and fairly nondescript

false nasturtium.png
Image source: Plantz Africa

I intend taking some cuttings of this plant as it roots easily and growing this one in my garden, I find it very attractive. As a succulent, it needs little water and is clearly able to regenerate after frost because it has an underground tuber

Sort:  

The leaves, in fact, he is very decorative!
I liked him.

They are very pretty

WOW this is outstanding macro! love the lighting. wonderful angle and awesome colors. love your photography style my dear friend nikv ❤

Thank you!

Beautiful tiny plant with lots of character!
Very pale sweet colour too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very pretty weed! The leaves remind me Begonia.

beautiful little plant....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15