Wildflower - Yellow Coneflower - Echinaca paradoxa

in #worldwildflora6 years ago (edited)

hp6d2iwhzg.jpg
Camera Samsung SM-G920V Ap F1.9 Exp time 1/1018 s ISO 40

Yellow Coneflower - Common name: coneflower
Scientific name Echinaca paradoxa



7qr0qcfmrx.jpg
Camera Samsung SM-G920V Ap F1.9 Exp time 1/1018 s ISO 40

mn3fek5za8.jpg
Camera Samsung SM-G920V Ap F1.9 Exp time 1/922 s ISO 40

A very rare wildflower, a perennial requiring full sun.
Bees, butterflies, and birds are attracted to this medicinal plant.

Location of photography - Nebraska, United States

Flowers photographed growing wild next to a stream located in a neighborhood park. I am more familiar with seeing purple echinaca.

Scent

There is little or no floral scent unless seedheads are crushed and release the scent of anise. The root system is rhizomatous, often forming tight clumps of plants.

Traditional medicinal uses (website source listed at bottom of post)

Immune-stimulant and anti-viral
Anti-microbial anywhere in the body
Activates macrophages, increase WBCs
Short-term immune stimulant
Contranindicated in auto-immune disorders and progressive diseases.

Personal experience

I have known people to use Echinacia to increase WBC count. You must let your doctor know because lab test can show and increase in your WBCs.

Culinary use

You can sprinkle fresh petals onto salads and put in summer drinks.

Source of some of the flower information

www.illinoiswildflowers.info/prairie/plantx/yl_coneflowerx.htm
www.herbgarden.co.za/mountainherb/herbinfo.php?id=350

This information is for educational purposes only and not intended for medical advice. If you are ill seek the advise of a medical doctor. The traditional listed from websites sited above.

Camera: Galaxy S6 phone, details from phone under each photograph.

Posted with #esteem thanks @good-karma

lgvyqyg2xg.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful photos! I don't think of that as being rare. It used to be all over when I I was a kid, but now that you mention it, I seldom see it anymore.

Thanks, I know what you mean. When I first saw them I thought they were black eyed susans and my friend set me straight. I had no idea they were a type of Echinaca I've seen is purple and people plant it. I have never seen the purple ones in the wild either. I really appreciate you taking time to comment. Time flies in this place,

It does fly, especially on Thursdays when I am wrapping up the Shadow Contest for the week! Thanks so much for your support this week. I appreciate it so much.

I plan to get in on that and I need to do a cemetary photo. @melinda010100

I'll be watching for both of them!

Nice flowers, I have not seen them for a long time.

I've heard about Echinacia plants and it's medicinal purposes but had never seen one. Thanks @photobe lovely capture.

The ones I have seen in the past are purple. I photographed this plant and did no know it was echinacia at the time.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @rebeccabe
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Congratulations @photobe! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for your participation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87