Why Journaling Has Become My Favorite Habit!

in #writing5 years ago

Serves As A Roadmap: One of the best purposes of having a diary is keep a check on goals and having s plan of action. It might sound mundane but actually stating down deadlines for future goals (LT or ST) helps us to prepare a course of actions to meet them without fail. Not only that it always helps to go back and see all the goals which were realised (or not). It helps me study patterns which I might have been following, see how they are working out for me and tweak them if needed.

old-1130743_1280.jpg

Listening Partner: There are times when all of us feel the need to share our thoughts and concerns with someone as a way of releasing emotions and feelings. Journaling works wonders for me whenever there is too much going in my mind and I am in dire need of clarity. The clouds of clutter and chaos are blown away gently and it helps restore the sense of calmness and peace once I isolate myself for this. I can rely on it at any point of the day and therefore it makes it my listening partner.

Safekeeping of Ideas: I can’t count the number of times where I have gone “Oh man! Only if I had written that down!” when it comes to recalling a good idea. Whenever my mind is on fire with concepts and ideas, my overconfident side ignores the urge to jot them down quickly and then suffers later when I actually forget them. It happens especially when I am forming some visual image (for painting) mentally and it all goes down the drain when I need them to put them for use. Ever since I’ve started journaling, losing them as fleeting thoughts have reduced greatly and I have been able to keep tabs on most of them :)

hourglass-620397_1280.jpg

Relive Events: This is purely for people like me who like to reminisce over good days. I enjoy going back to pages and read about days that have pleasant memories in them and re capture those details in my mind. It sets me in such a good mood and attitude for the rest of the day. There are times I am shocked at my own memory of how little I remember! Of course there are pages which have not-so-good experiences but I mostly do not recollect them. I think of it as a mini version of time travel hehe.

Improves Writing: I am not a regular writer and it is essential for me to take gaps in between to avoid making it feel like a chore. I like it to be spontaneous and natural where I can truly be in the flow of writing. I have noticed a big difference in my writing skills over the years and creativity too. It feels more fluid and is easier to connect with. I am more of a visual person but lately I have also found a very good resonance with writing! And it’s true for anyone, I think. The more you practice something, the more likely you are to dig deeper and get good at it.

pen-4163403_1280.jpg

Well, there you go! These are a few of the many reasons why I believe in the process of journaling. And it is after giving up and getting back quite a few times that I speak in it’s favor. But as they say “To each his own”, all of us do have very different tastes and preferences when it comes to things like these. What do you guys think? I would love to know if any of you enjoy journaling or any other form of creative writing!


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 41.60% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @aishwarya! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.67
ETH 3092.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86