[VR Review] The Only Good Virtual Boy Games, Part 11: Space Squash

in #writing6 years ago

hqdefault (1).jpg
source

Just like how many SNES games had the "Super" Prefix, like Super Star Wars, Super Metroid and Super Castlevania, or how many N64 games had "64" on the end of the name, many Virtual Boy titles either had "Virtual" or "Space" as their prefix. Why space? I guess to make sense of the pitch black backgrounds?

maxresdefault.jpg
source

Space Squash is something like Mario's Tennis with jetpacks. Instead of moving left to right, you can move all around the rectilinear corridor that gameplay takes place in, smashing the ball back at the enemy robot. The goal is either to make him miss, or hit him with the ball when he's not ready, taking away a life point.

ss4.gif
source

Gameplay is complicated by differently shaped corridors and various kinds of obstacles between one end and the other for the ball to interact with in different ways. Some bounce it back at you, some break open to reveal powerups, and so on.

It's actually quite fun. I put it in the same tier as Bound High. It isn't perfect, but the one thing it tries to do, it does well. It feels generous to give it an 8/10 but I can't pin down exactly why. I think it only barely reaches that mark.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

I never played this one, probably because it was a Japanese only release. It does remind me of Mario's Tennis, which I personally enjoyed. I think the actual game play is like a Virtual Boy version of Pong. Thanks for sharing!

The new Mario Tennis on the Nintendo switch gets pretty complicated that they may as well add jet packs to it at this point. The idea of hitting them with the ball is kinda cool though

Posted using Partiko iOS

Even though I’ve never played any of Virtual Boy’s games and even though Space Squash is very interesting and fun game, Red Alarm is so far my favorite. But as I mentioned, I’ve never played any of these games and I would’ve changed my mind if I had played it.

They are easy to emulate with Retroarch.

Are you a programmer?

I did not have the opportunity to play this game, but if I have my Nintendo 64 when I have the chance to play agent007 the missions and with my son I play multiplayer but I choose the golden gun and every time I give him a beating hehehe.

Everything is just too red in these games.

Do you by any chance ever played a word game, word puzzle, scrabble or chess ?

Sure, just not very often.

Looks easy. Or maybe it's just a competent player. Thanks for posting this!

Haven't played this one.
Tell me Alex have you played each and every game there is

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85