Today Was a Wonderful Day...I Got 'Attacked' by a 'Pit-Bull'...

in #writing6 years ago

Ho-Hum...just another day in 'Paradise' I guess...

Maybe I'm overdue for a change of scenery after living in this Third Class City of about 100,000 culturally, diverse Utopian community...I don't know...??? This place was listed as the number one poorest city in America not too many years ago, but has moved up in ranking somewhat. Detroit and Baltimore I believe is topping the list presently. 

Either way...it still pretty much sucks.

Anyway...the day didn't start out badly at all. Most of the day I spent either, indoors eagerly perusing posts on Steemit or doing light chores out back in the yard. My immediate environment was fairly peaceful, regardless of the chaos not far from my door.

The typical sounds of people yelling and arguing (family disputes) dogs barking, kids screaming, blaring Hip-Hop, deafening cranking of high pitched Yamaha's and Honda's, sirens galore, an occasional gun shot, and a host of other noisy disturbances (some of which I couldn't decipher) made for a somewhat less than, serene ambiance... 

Thank God for the miracle 'Smart Phone' which you can plug an ear piece into and escape at will to a whole new cyber world of your choosing.Today I chose Dharma Talks by Ajahn Brahm to escape my ill perceived reality...He may be a practicing Monk of 35 years or more, but the guy never lost his entertaining English brand of humor. He cracks you up while at the same time, heightening your spiritual connection, bringing you closer to Nirvana...instead of 'Nerve-ana'..(I just made that up...pretty good huh?)

Ajahn Brahm - Wikipedia

Phra Visuddhisamvarathera, known as Ajahn Brahmavamso, or simplyAjahn Brahm is a British-Australian Theravada Buddhist monk. 

So....If I had stayed were I was (planted in my abode) plugged into ole Ajahn Brahm, instead of venturing out to do a little food shopping, I might have completed the day floating in a meditatively, induced state of esoteric bliss, rather than a state of anger, regret and self-debasement.

The trip 'to' the store was fairly normal...I encountered only one road rage incident (not mine) a few cars running stop lights, or rolling through stop signs almost causing accidents, and a mere handful of other oddities coming from the mind of the masses...

Returning home was the challenge...I almost had a sampling of flesh removed from me by a huge, muscular, and hungry Pit-Bull...

As I turned the corner to my house with bags in tote, a somewhat stout, tattooed person of female persuasion was being pulled along the sidewalk by a monster with a tail, chained to her hand...Since it was apparent that she had minimal control of the animal, and they were heading directly towards me, I momentarily paused to assess the dogs intentions.

Ole Rover heading directly towards me, so I smiled while saying, "hey pup..." the woman smiled at me...the dog hard bumped my shopping bag a little aggressively, which I had positioned between him and my precious jewels (fortunately) I jokingly said, "Hey...that's 'my' food..."

Then it happened...

In a flash, the mutt lunged at me almost pulling the woman to the ground. Fortunately, my successful maneuvering resulted in the giant jaws of the dog only managing to grab, twist and tear at my bag...Since the bag was plastic, and the woman yanked the dog as I pulled away, there were only holes in the bag instead of my leg...

She became all apologetic in between yelling and slapping at her dog, then asked if I was alright. I guess she noticed I had glanced at my hand which now had a throbbing knuckle on the middle finger. Somehow, I must have gotten a headbutt to the fist or a 'missed' bite...but I was okay otherwise.

I'm so glad that the woman managed to hold onto the dog as she pulled it back towards her house, because the beast kept acting like he still wanted to go at me. I never had to call out my twelve little friends in a clip, with another one in the chamber...I love animals...but, not when they want me for dinner...

Such a wonderful day in paradise.

I'm outta here...see ya some other time.

Ciao

Another Dauntingly, Deranged Adventure by @AngryMan on Steemit Sept. 16, 2018


Images Courtesy of Pexels.com
Sort:  

Maybe I'm overdue for a change of scenery…

…Or geting a pet lion, as you suggested with your illustration photo, @angryman ;)

I have a 'little' lion @lighteye ...very domesticated and only about 15 pounds.

Not enough, @angryman. It has to be bigger than a 'Pit-Bull'. About in this proportion:

https://steemit.com/animalphotography/@hadzijaz/chudan-susret

😄😄😄

That should suffice...along with this

So, you tend towards radical solutions 😄

But remember, with a pet lion 'Pit-Bull' probably wouldn’t think of tasting your flesh, and with this you would have to think about bullet spree! In a very big city 😉

Damn bro, head to Thailand, do not pass go, collect all family jewels and go and enjoy some fun, with a capital F.

I will be doing that...it's in my plans brudda. Hope all is well with you and your family.

All good here, the suns a shining, and all I can hear are birds tweeting and my daughter chatting, and that is a slice of heaven to me.

I understand fully my friend.

Congratulations @angryman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87