Mischief Makers Day 5: Elf in Trouble

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Previous Night (Cookie Clutter)

Oh Little Elf on Santa’s list
Of bad and naughty sprites
You cannot do a single thing
But sit and sulk all night

Oh Nim you are a bad elf
You’ve ruined all the days
Now Lil must do it all alone
While Glitter huffs and brays

“Stick to the real words Nim,” Glitter said and added more bubbles to his bath.

“Santa told us to make you relax,” said Lil. “He sent this letter for you.”

Nim took the letter with a gloomy frown. This was a busy time of year for Santa. Sending a personal letter with everything else he had on his cookie plate could not be a good sign.

d51.jpg

With trembling fingers, he cracked the seal.

Dear Nim,

Ho, ho, hope this letter finds you well on the road to recovery. I don’t like scolding my elves so I’ll just say this. If you cannot relax and get well, I’ll have to pull some of the Toymakers out to bring you back to the North Pole.

I don’t want to do it, Nim, but if I get another angry parent letter…I’ll have no choice.

I’ve sent a temporary partner for Lil so Glitter can stay and keep you company.

Be good, Nim. I expect to see you fully recovered in one week.

Santa

Nim looked up in outrage. Glitter was pawing at the floor nervously.

“Who is it?”

“Well…he’s new to the Mischief Makers,” said Lil.

“A newbie? Santa sent a newbie to replace me?”

“He’s not a replacement, Nim.” Lil’s voice sounded too bright.

“He’s a temporary fill-in until you get well,” said Glitter.

“And? Where is this intruder?” Nim felt ridiculous sitting in a crockpot full of bubbles while some interloper was out invading his territory.

Lil sighed. “Figgy? FIGGY!”

“Figgy?” said Nim. “Like…the pudding? Ridiculous name for an elf.”

A green clad elf flew merrily to the crockpot and landed in front of Lil with a perfect triple backflip. “Yes Ma’am! Reporting for duty!”

d52.jpg

“Figgy, I’d like you to meet Nim.”

“Hello sir! Can I just say how happy I am to be a part of the team.”

“No,” Nim said coldly. “You cannot.”

Figgy’s face fell. Lil’s lips lowered. Glitter grimaced.

“Well,” said Figgy after a pause. “This is awkward.”

Lil laughed nervously. “Why don’t you go toast the bread Figgy. I need to talk to Nim.”

Figgy zipped off to the kitchen.

“The bread?” asked Nim.

“It was Figgy’s idea. We’re going to wear the toast and write…”. Lil’s voice trailed off at the look on Nim’s face.

“Nevermind.”

“Well,” said Nim stiffly. “You’d better get going.”

“Nim, I…”. But Nim had turned away, humming his sad and mournful version of Oh, Little Town of Bethlehem.

d53.jpg

Next Day (Scrooged)

*Originally posted at www.apinchofhomestead.com

Sort:  

What a cute little story! And I really like that you take pictures of the characters in this story.
                     
Congratulations for your first curie vote ^_^. Keep posting and stay active and you might get another one in the future.

Thank you! It's a series. I have one for each day of the Christmas season so stay tuned! My husband thinks I've lost my mind. I've been doing this every December for the past 5 years. LOL

Thanks for your funny and charming story.

Hi apinchofhome,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @apinchofhome! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

A lovely tale! Poor Santa! I can see where grumpy elves would be a problem.

Thank you @melinda010100! Wait until you see what unfolds during the rest of the season!

Congratulations @apinchofhome! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Poor Nim, must because of he cannot be part of the team before he recovered. While watching his teammate having fun, I do understand why he is grumpy. I hope he soon will find out that Santa did this for his good, Santa want him have a fast recovery. I felt pity with Glitter because he need stay together with Nim.
I like how you used the photos to support your story @apinchofhome. Thank you for the link to your previous post. This is a christmas month... I am in a christmas mood and your story came in right on time. I definitely will visit your previous story. I noticed you wrote it by day, you plan to write it until christmas day?

Thank you @oliviackl! Yep, I have a story ready to go for every day during the season. This is my favorite time of year.

I'm glad you liked the links! I'm new to steemit so still trying to figure it all out and I figured it would be helpful to have links to the whole series.

welcome to steemit @apinchofhome.. yeah with a link it help the reader to read your previous story easily. You also can consider in your new post list down all your story in sequence eg Day 1 : Title and link, Day2: title and link..
How nice of you to have a story ready daily..Do you dream about writing story as well since your brain now full of whole month story 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @oliviackl! I'm glad you are enjoying my stories. I had not thought to put a link to all stories at the bottom of each new post. What a great idea! Thank you for the tip and the welcome!

You are welcome @apinchofhome. I enjoy the stories very much. Hope other readers enjoy it as well.., I am in christmas mood now... 😆 and your story hit it., hehe

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice Christmas story, I have an impression that it might become busy the closer it gets to Christmas tome and elves have their own tasks and need to work like one mechanism. Like that nice letter that Santa sent to Nim where he is worried and wishes a good recovery. Actually that also reminded me the Christmas movies that we always have on television. No matter that I am not a child anymore it is as a magic that feeling of fairy tale that comes every time on Christmas.

I couldn't agree more @stef1! I just love this time of year and my kiddos (6 and 8) are just the right age for these stories and shenanigans.

Something makes me feel that Nim will not recover quickly enough and will be convinced that Figgy wants to still his job. But I think that she is a good elf and really just wants to help. I feel that there will be some disagreements between them but I hope that Santa will step up between them and make it all work to save Christmas :)

It's a very nice Christmas story. Very easy and interesting to read :)

Thank you for sharing! Have a great weekend!

Thank you! I'm so glad you are enjoying it! I have SO much fun writing these stories and my boys love all the shenanigans the elves get up to. :)

What a cute christmas story! I hope Nim gets well soon. And I hope Nim and Figgy becomes friends. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76