A short rant about Facebook.

in #writing6 years ago

Scrolling through Facebook is decently depressing on a regular basis.

So many people so desperate for attention. "Look at my excessive amounts of selfies!!" "Look at my cute pets!!" "Look at the foods I ate and the drinks I drank!!" "Look at the parties and concerts and events I went to!!" "Look at meeeeeeee!"

Wanting so much love and attention yet they have none or very little in comparison to spare for others who are suffering around the world.

If they lived somewhere poor and impoverished they would probably wish someone in the first world would help them.

But unfortunately for so many victims of this world most of the people in the first world are too busy fattening up their egos/hedonism/happiness and their wallets and lives to give much of a fuck about anyone else. -.-

Sort:  

This is the world we live in now. I have to admit that I am still an active Facebook user. I love seeing photos and hearing about old friends’ lives that I would otherwise have lost touch with. Also seeing photos of my family members that live hundreds of miles away. Particularly my little nieces and nephews. I’m in my mid 30s, so I’m on that fine line where we got the last of the analog world and the first of the digital world. It’s equally impressive and depressing.

But yes, you are so right. People are so desperate for validation. It’s almost sickening. That’s why I love Steemit. I come here to see what truly makes people tick and what they are passionate about. Steemit may be in a bit of a slump, but I still find it to be a breath of fresh air.

Chris Hedges calls this "the cult of the self" and blames corporate power using the techniques of Edward Bernays through advertising and corporate culture in an attempt to beef up the ego and create consumption as a form of inner compulsion. In this way, and through devaluing the dollar, they can maintain constant expenditure and rake in massive profits. This is why all the mainstream media outlets are a bane and totally devoid of spiritual edification.

BTW, I deleted FB. You might want to consider doing the same.

The same happens here, and probably will be happening more. But attention or better said, validation is a actual drug. Facebook is all about validation because it is more women than men that use it, and women compete more with other women than men. That is my thought, don't quote me on that.

I agree it happens on virtually all social media. It's just that I was scrolling through Facebook when I got inspired to do that rant. Though in retrospect I shoulda mentioned pretty much all social media.. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Congratulations @apolymask! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73