Found what appears to be ancient ruins on Pyramid mountain.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Had a fun adventure yesterday hiking with a friend.
We went up Pyramid mountain and beforehand I was talking about some of the mysteries and things I've heard about the place.

For example that my friend claimed his parents found a mummified baby there a long time ago, and also that some people believe it's an ancient pyramid that has sort of been calcified over or "petrified" through long periods of time.
I mentioned also that I heard that the natives used to go up to the very top and have ceremonies, all of these things are theories and I dunno if there's any truth to any of them.

However there is a site near the bottom where my friend said his parents found the mummified baby where there's a lot of pottery and some other artifacts that can be found like arrowheads and those rocks used to grind corn.
And I have searched this area a LOT during the course of my life.. I've been around the whole base of it and all over trying to find more that might help me understand the history better.

Then on our way back down after a fun hike and some good talks.. I saw what looked like rocks stacked artificially.
Took a closer look and sure enough, there were some walls, essentially buried.. I thought maybe they could have been modern because me and my brothers when younger had even built some walls up there, though.. The fact that they were almost completely buried tells me they are ancient.

20190314_132904.jpg

To think all these years of exploring that area and the countless times I had walked past there.. I never saw it before. Was quite a surprise!
I think maybe that they have only just recently started to be visible do to erosion and stuff like that cause.. I'm surprised I never saw it before.

We started heading back again after that and I spotted another one a lil ways away! That one was even harder to see and more buried.
So now.. I'm wondering just how many buried buildings might be up there..? I wonder.. How many other people know about it?

Seems like the government is often quick to come in and excavate and rope off the sites they find around here, maybe they don't even know about it yet?
This further makes me believe that the ancients did indeed go up to the top of pyramid for ceremonies. Those buildings were almost at the top, really close.

I'm looking forward to going back up there sometime and exploring more, maybe I can find something else if I look around a bit!
Stuff like this is one of the reasons I love living in Sedona, it's such a mysterious and fascinating place full of so much history and legend and interesting things to discover!

I wonder what it must have been like staying up there on Pyramid mountain..? I wonder what the people were like. I wonder so many things. ._.

20190314_132835.jpg
Here's another shot of the structure hidden mostly under tree which further leads me to believe it is ancient and not modern.

Sort:  

Whoa that's really cool. Those walls definitly look man made. That would be awesome if you discovered something ancient that no one else knows about. Im not sure how far away from where you live these sites are but You should totally set up your own archeological dig. You never know what you will find. Looks like a fun adventure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed. Thanks for the feedback. And yeah it does certainly look man made, pretty sure it's ancient. It would be cool to discover something no one knows about! Especially if it were to be of the kind of significance that changes our understanding of history. I live pretty close, maybe about 45 min hike, however.. It's super illegal to do something like setting up your own archaeological dig. It's tempting especially cause of all the stories where official digs mess things up or the conspiracy theories about how they hide artifacts they've found and never share them with the public, though.. I doubt I would ever do my own dig since I don't wanna go to jail, lol. I will probably go back up there and just look around though, I may be able to find something interesting without having to dig. :)

I see. I didn't realize that was illegal. It makes sense that you dont want to go to jail hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

I have no doubt, these are ancient walls from the Sinagua Indians. Nice work!

Thanks dad! It was quite exciting to find those ruins up there. I also Googled it and couldn't find any evidence that anyone has ever found any ruins up there before. So it looks like not many people might know about it. I look forward to talking to you more about it on the phone or in person sometime.

I am just probably hearing about the pyramid mountain for the first time

Well I imagine most people who have never been to Sedona have probably not heard of it either. It is a cool place though for sure!

Congratulations @apolymask! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8000 comments. Your next target is to reach 8500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30