Morning Pages are Your Key for Ideas and Creativity. Day 6 of 31 Days Writing Challenge

in #writing6 years ago

When I first heard about morning pages I brushed it aside. I mean, I don't know about you but I can barely find time in the morning to finish a cup of coffee, much less write.

But the benefits claimed to be transformational to more than one's writing, so the thought kept appearing in my stream of consciousness.

What are morning pages?

Created by writing coach Julia Cameron, morning pages are a creative unblocking tool that if used consistently promise incredible results.

Done first thing in the morning after you wake up and before you do anything else, morning pages are three longhand, stream of consciousness writing that you can complete in 15 minutes.

There is no wrong way to do them. Simply put a notebook and pen by your bed at night and when you wake write about whatever crosses your mind. Document your dreams, list the things you have to do today, write about your goals, health, passions or relationships. Freely write any thoughts you encounter.

The things you find yourself writing will even surprise you. Just go with it! They are for you and only you so do not worry about perfection- or even making sense. Morning pages clarify, provoke creativity and have even been shown to reduce anxiety.

There are numerous benefits reported by writers who use morning pages daily, including:

  • Less complaining- you are already complaining to your notebook!

  • Problem solving- tap into your subconscious mind.

  • Creative "unblocking"

  • Reduce anxiety by helping to ground you and clarify fears, vulnerability, etc.

  • Focus and clarity, helping to center and clear your mind.

  • New ideas- you open yourself to attracting change and ideas.

  • Action- by writing about it, your energy follows.

  • Increased creativity- you'll discover things hidden or long stifled inside you.

Morning pages jumpstart your Idea Generator powers and take them to the next level.

Writing by computer is faster than longhand, however it is much more emotionally detached. It allows our inner critic to flourish since we know we can easily backspace and fix any mistakes.

Writing by hand takes longer. It is this slowness that allow us to connect to our emotional cortex and bring a depth to our perception.


Make time for Morning Pages. To be honest with you I do not have much time. As a Mama I cannot take on any tasks that are not improving my or my family's lives. Morning pages are one of the important tasks that you should make time for, and, believe it or not give you back a little extra time! By making your mind clearer and sharper and "silencing" the noise, you are more productive and move efficiently through your day.


Today's Challenge

Set a notebook and pen by your bed. When you awaken in the morning write three pages of whatever. It's ok if you need to make a cup of coffee before you start but that should be the extent of your pre morning pages activity.

Try this for seven days straight and reflect on what it has done for you. I'll bet you will incorporate Morning Pages into your daily routine after reaping the benefits!

Write on Steemit!




Images via Creative Commons and Getty Images


Be a Better Writer in Just One Month! Join the 31 Day Writing Challenge to transform your writing and your life!

Day 1 The Truth About Making Time For Writing
Day 2 How to Incorporate Ideas From Life in Your Writing
Day 3 Master the Art of Captivating Your Readers
Day 4 Banishing Distractions
Day 5 Get Your Writing Noticed!



I appreciate your support :)





If you find this article after day 7, please consider upvoting a recent article.


Sort:  

It's very cool
The truth is that I can not think of writing. But it is striking to write my dreams since I never remember what I dream.

I love these types of activities.

I still owe you the experience of doing 30 circles before writing or doing something. I promise you that before writing my next publication I will put that exercise.

That's great to hear!

Awesome, and please let me know how it helps :)

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

This How @arbitrarykitten starts her Day When She is Ready to BLOG...........

Accurate! Except I'm usually tag-teamed! lol

Never heard of Morning pages but by the explanation looks quite interesting. A way to sharing your mind on the notebook thereby helping in relaxing your mind. Will try ....to do ....but need a strong will...

Set a certain time each day and tell yourself you'll stick with it for two weeks, then treated yourself.

Doin it will be a habit and willpower will be unnecessary :)

I've heard of this but never actually tried it. Maybe I will now

Give it a try, and let me know how it works!

I think I am doing that but in my mind as it always takes me 10 minutes to get out of bed - honestly my legs get out of bed first and then my body follows by conforming to the physics of the human body! I bet it looks like a horror movie :))

When starting a new day creatively never make plans. When you wake up and your first thought is: "Oh, I need to do this and this and this and this" it will take from your energy and your creativity.
Have problem-solving days and creative days. And idle days. Eat, sleep, play, wash, sleep again. When I wake up the second time in a day after doing nothing, a lot of thoughts invade my mind :D
Kinda like writing articles about how one can heat his home by cats alone!

I can see it now: The world's heat crisis and animal shelter overpopulation solved simultaneously! Adopt one shelter cat per 12 square foot of your house today!

:)

:D Exactly!!!

The secret of good writing is to say an old thing in a new way or to say a new thing in an old way.

Yes, valid points :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #129 (5/9/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

I'm hopping aboard ;)

Hi @arbitrarykitten, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Much appreciated!

I'm going to try to make it this Thursday :)

this is exactly what i'm talking about. :)

this technique have helped me several times during my college years, especially when i'm stuck in a problem and cannot move forward.

Yes! It helps to clarify the situation :)

Also, in this way my Eureka moments happen. hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83