The World in my Eyes. Part 1

in #writing6 years ago (edited)



Image Source: wikimedia commons

What caught my fancy wasn't the way she watched the moon slip out of my balls but the way she rolled her eyes wishing the moon could as well slip into hers. Unfortunately, what I saw rolling into those tiny little eyes was the cloud, Turing into strings of raindrops, flipping through her eye balls and dripping in lines. It wasn't tears of Joy, but tears of anxiety, anxiety of wanting something new happen to her. Just out of the blues, I got magneted to the tears and took few steps to her. I had my knees fold into two, in order for our heights to blend. I needed the direct eye to eye contact with her. 'Poor little girl' I said to myself as I held her hands.
What do you want? I asked. 'Your e...y...e....s...' 'What about my eyes?' 'Your e...y...e....s... the world in your eyes..." 'Talk to me little princess... What did you see in my eyes?' 'Your eyes...eyes...eyes'
I got lost in the dialogue and thought I should divert my questions to who she was. I discovered her name was Bella and she was just six years old. She lived with her parents at the 3rd house from the left, down the hill, in the same crescent where I lived. I uttered a sigh of relief geting this little information about her. At least I knew she wasn't lost. My hands gradually left her wrist to her left shoulder and then to her hair. I gradually pulled her from that spot where she has hung for a while. I wanted her to sit down. At the same time, I was conscious of not being accused of kidnapping. I had no bad intentions. I just fell in love with her curiosity and wanted to know the passion behind it.
There is this thing about children that even science is yet to find out. They carry stars in their eyes. The closer you get to stir into their eyes, the clearer you see it. Anyway, I'm yet to find out if it's just my own eyes that see these stars in their eyes, or perhaps my penchant for them has turned me into a lunatic. But how comes? when I get into a dialogue with them, they get to admit the stars and find names for each of the stars. Anyway, whichever i t was, a lunatic or not, I've got the world in my eyes.
We sat on the grass, just beside a garden before my house. I didn't mind my work cloths that I had on. I didn't care if it got messy. I took my shoes off and dropped my hand bag beside the shoes. I didn't take my gaze of her. I was tempted to take a glance at my wrist watch, as I heard the sound 'work work work' in the tick of the clock, somewhere beside my left ear. I ignored it and avoided the contact with my wrist watch. Then I sat with my hands folded, stiring deep into the Bella's eye. What I was seing was different from what she was seing. She started to smile. I smiled back even though I didn't know why she smiled.
She started pointing her tiny little fingers towards my eyes. I sat still, I wasn't scared of having my eyes poked. She began to utter some word s I didn't understand. Perhaps, she was speaking in her mother's tongue. I got more fascinated. After fifteen minutes of this deadlog conversation, I thought I should lie down on the grass instead of sitting, in order for her to feel more comfortable. In the process, my supported concave eye lens went off.
Bella immediately took her gaze off me and began to stir at the the fallen glasses. The glasses were the only reason I had a clear sight. I could hardly see anything around me. Bella picked up the glasses, cleaned it and tried to place it on her eyes. I saw the moves she made, but didn't know exactly what she was trying to see. The world suddenly left my eyes and the world became gloomy. I used to have a spare in my bag, but I just couldn't reach my bag at that point. I called out for Bella, but she was lost in my lens.
Everything that had pricked her fancy was the reflection of the world on the glasses. I was so used to my glasses that I already saw it as a part of me. I never thought Bella would have been caught by the reflection on my glasses. Everything began to fade off from my eyes. Bella didn't steal a glance behind her as she turned her back on me and walked away in her little steps. She got lost on the lonely lane, or perhaps, I just lost sight of her. My voice became faint from calling Bella. I rubbed my hands slowly on the floor, trying to reach for my bag, then I felt this little thing like an earpiece. Bella had left her little hearing support. No wonder she didn't hear me calling her name.
I finally reached for my bag. The world has left my eyes. I felt through the bag for my spare glasses, but couldn't find it. I think I left it at home. My house wasn't far from where I was, but how to see my way through to my house was the challenge. The world out of my eyes. Something was just about to happen to me and it was the end of the beginning...
"the moon... the moon...the moon...that was where I started from... ...To be continued

Sort:  

This is well illustrated and will keep anyone on their seat to read from start to finish. Will look out for the continuation part.

@stevenmosoes

Thanks @stevenmosoes I will get the continuation typed soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29