Exquisite Corpse, Speculative Fiction Writers, and Farmpunk

in #writing6 years ago

As you probably know by now, I had an internet outage over the weekend. I'm still not out of the water yet. While I was sitting in public chasing my deadlines yesterday my wife discovered the reason our internet wasn't working. Still, we're waiting for CenturyLink to make their service call, which they promised would happen within one week of our call--so, by Friday. Meanwhile, we're considering switching over to Comcast.

Saturday, I found the time to put out an invite to writers who might be interested in writing a collaborative story. It's a little exercise that I call exquisite corpse. I've had two takers so far:

  1. @franexito
  2. @fromage

If you'd like to join us, leave a comment on the original post (here) saying you're in.

exquisite corpse
Image from Pixabay.

steemit bloggers

farmpunk and speculative fiction

On another note, I'd like to invite you to join the Speculative Fiction Writers of Steemit Discord server.

If the above link expires before you read this, leave a comment below with your Discord user name and I'll send you a personal invite. If you have trouble with the above link, try this:

  1. Open up Discord
  2. On the left, where all of your Discord servers are ducks in a row, scroll all the way down and click the + button
    Discord
  3. Click "Join a Server"
  4. When prompted, enter the Discord invite link: https://discord.gg/TXtV7u

Looking forward to seeing you there.

If you haven't seen it yet, check out my recent blog post "5 Things You Should Know About Speculative Fiction Today."

steemit bloggers

farmpunk and speculative fiction

Today is my attempt to get back into the swing of things after being out for a few days. The connection outage threw me a little bit off my game. It happens. I've learned to pick myself up, dust off the old jacket, and start kicking again. So call me Ishmael.

We're about a week and a half in on the third farmpunk fiction contest. The following Steemians have expressed some interest in the game.

WritersAuthorsStorytellers
@bashadow@mujasteem@samuraihedgehog
@steveblucher@calluna@blueteddy
@iamjadeline@stever82@cicisaja
@talkingwiseshit@jaichai@seesladen
@ediblecthulhu@effofex@dedicatedguy
@lapb@paulelmo@mudcat36
@wales@reonlouw@agmoore
@kaerpediem@riverflows@illusions16

Looking for the flavor of farmpunk? Check out these two stories of mine:

  1. Altland's Gambit
  2. Racioppa's Revenge

Farmpunk contest rules:

  • Resteem this post (or any one post mentioning Farmpunk Contest #3
  • Write a farmpunk short story of 750-3,000 words
  • Deadline: Midnight EST, September 29, 2018
  • Use the prompt in the original post to get you going (but it doesn't have to be strict adherence to the theme as long as you connect it somehow)
  • Write your entry on your #Steemit blog and post a link to it in the comments of the original post
  • Tag your post with the #farmpunk tag

Remember, the essence of farmpunk #fiction is high-tech meets farming culture in a dystopian world with countercultural characters and an edgy tone (or something close). Better get your entries ready.

Prizes:
Winner will receive 1 unopened Steem Monsters booster pack. If there are 5 or more entries, a second-place winner will receive 1 share of SBI. If there are 10 or more entries, a third-place winner may be selected and will receive 1 STEEM.

I'm looking forward to reading your stories. Bring 'em on!

Get your weird lit on:

The Biblical Legends Anthology Series

Garden of EdenSulfuringsDeluge
At AmazonAt AmazonAt Amazon


At Amazon

steemit bloggers

farmpunk

review me
Review Me, Please

While you're here, check out the backside 5 (my five latest posts):


Steemit Bloggers


created and used by veterans
with permission from @guiltyparties

promo mentors

helpienaut

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blockurator from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I've been thinking lately that the government has too much power in our lives

And too much life in our power.

So, I guess you didn't suffer from the HF20 fork?

Namaste, JaiChai

No, I was offline over the weekend. So my wife and I spooned.

I wish I had the time to try more of this but just so much going on at my job right now I can't but best of lucky to those that can.

I understand. Maybe next time.

I hope your connection will be better soon so that you can go full swing. i wish i can join the farmpunk but i can't due to other commitment and can not fork out extra time to write something i am totally not good at. but i am sure those outstanding ones will stand up soon :)

I'm sure you'd be good at it @iamjadeline. But I understand the time commitment. You can only do so much. Looking forward to your next Steem Monsters tale.

Thank you for your understanding @blockurator :) see you around.

Posted using Partiko Android

So what is this collaborate story about? Perhaps I may partake in it if it is something my imagination can work with.

I don't know yet. I haven't started it. What would you like it to be about?

I'm open to things. When you guys start it up, let me know and I will see if I can take part ^_^ I think it is a great idea and a fun one too :)

Okay. I'll count you in. I know you can do it.

Congratulations @blockurator! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87