The Wild (Prose and Photos) (7 day Positivity Challenge Day 6)

in #writing6 years ago

Standing atop the ridge, where many a man stood and looked across this plain, when it was a plain. When the wild roamed in great packs, kicking up dusts across the flats. Where still, little birds chatter and ricochet through the blossoming undergrowth. Jackdaw territory, safe from the shadows in the sky.

The wind that tugs and tussles my hair, the billowing breeze the buffets my back, that creeps through the creaking branches. An orchestra a-quiver in trembling leaves, swishing grass and swaying floral heads.

The roaring gorse that lines these slopes has a greater claim to this land than I. Her yellow beauty has offered sanctuary and shelter in the gushing glory of the storm. Her tentative roots plunge into the soft earth, fingers entwined beneath the ground.

The soft peat of time lost, crumbles beneath bare feet. The cold stream, twinkles and tinkles over rocks in the sunlight. A path cut through centuries of certain perseverance. The water carves out her own place.

Life and death are one here, as the flowers die, littering the ground with their crumpled colour, they shall return, ablaze in life once more. They carpet the groves with bruised petals, tread softly through the fallen dreams of the wild.

As the sheep decays, his flesh feeding the cubs of the fox, he saves the lamb from such a fate. As the birds line their nest with tufts of his matted coat, new life will break forth cushioned by another. As the grass dies beneath him, deprived of the sun, so shall it push up with renewed force, thick and verdant. The seasons rise and fall with the ebb and flow. Caught in the crescendos of time, these lines play through us all.

There is a beauty in hardship and heartache, in sorrow and loss, a faint elegant glimmer of something greater, normally lost in the shine of joy. Like the symphonies that echo through the ages, the rise and fall, the brass and strings that vibrate the very being of the air. The juxtaposition of duality completes the concerto.

In her callous disregard, the wild offers a tender hand. An resonating invitation to take comfort in all of life.

For day six (and I know it has been a while since day five but I am enjoying this so spacing out the last few) I wanted to share my love of the wild. I really enjoy descriptive writing, and just wanted to describe a few of my favourite things about the wild. I have also included some photos of some of my favourite places. I am so lucky to live so close to a national park, it is so beautiful, I could have flooded you with even more photos!

Thanks to @antimetica for getting me doing this

The rules for the 7 Day Positivity Challenge:
• Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
• Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
• Mention three people who should do this on each day.
• Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
• Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible)

Today I nominate:
I'm not going to tag anyone today, but if you read this and want to give it a go, you can tag me in your posts as having nominated you and I will come and check it out :)

Photos by me

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Oh wow thank you! I did not think for even a second something like this would ever be noticed :)

Indeed you are lucky to live next to a national park! It's so gorgeous and green. The little brook is so neat and defined in the grass. I see dead animals sometimes along the trail here too and I have to say thank you for giving me a more positive image to replace the ones I usually have in my mind... sorrow, sometimes curiosity, it's a suburban area so much wildlife is displaced by humans. I like your way of looking at it better.

I just adore that in nature, there is physical reincarnation. When something dies, it really does give new life. I still don't like seeing them, especially not fresh, but nature always has a purpose for something, even in death <3 I can totally see how the beliefs in reincarnation came into being just observing nature.

I just need to find somewhere with jagged peaks with hidden groves like these, and the ocean, then I will be set for life ;)

But you're already there! Although the jagged peaks are debatable ;)

Wow you are lucky to capture so much detail of nature. All the way down to the bone, literally. Seeing that is a reminder of the circle of life keeping itself alive with the dead. Now having animals on this planet is good and all because we humans always look for ways to prolong life. But would the Earth keep going if only dead animals were refeeding it once we reach being immortal or would it require us as well to stay spinning? Would the next planet we land on work the same way? So many questions to expand!

I love wondering what earth left to it's own devices would become...

I suppose if we found another planet, then our life would be formed from the atoms of that world, so we wouldn't be taking anything from earth to need to return it. Stars are born and die in the same way, giving their atoms back to the universe in great clouds of dust that eventually form Stella nurseries, so I wonder, it could be the same, or we could find a world that had an ending, a place where energy could indeed be created or destroyed. I just love speculating, metaphorically trying to understand the mountain from within :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68