Randomness

in #writing6 years ago

Unique 20180421_181203.jpg
This is one of my favourite drawings by KayD. It depicts my exact mood at the moment.


Because it's Saturday and I'm lazy, I'm doing random things. So, I've decided to bring some of my random thoughts to you. Some of them are weird, most of them actually. I love weird. But because I'm nice - at least i like to so - I'm going to share the not so weird ones. Read and have fun.

I never really like dogs till I began to watch movies and read romance novels. My first memory of dogs was of barking, chasing and biting. And those huge ones with big heads didn't help matters. I had a neighbour who trained them (still do). But then, the ones you read about in the pages of a book are usually sweet. Makes you wonder if it's really like that. I've never had a dog, so I can't tell.

Here's how dogs are introduced in romance novels:

'She's huge and beautiful, covered in golden brown fur. Her green-grey eyes danced with excitement as she leaped, almost knocking him to the ground.'

Or

'Tail wagging, she jumped out of the pool, spewing water and licking his face. On the first touch, she collapsed on the ground and rolled over, belly up.'

Etc

Note that the dog will have a fancy name, say Zoe. Then one of the characters will say, 'This is Zoe. She's friendly but mannerless. Down, Zoe.'

The dog will quietly go down, its entire body wagging, obviously unable to control its joy and affection. Then almost immediately, the dog will do something stupid and then sit with its head down, cautiously thumping its tail, pretending to feel remorseful.

Sigh.

You read something like this sometimes and you allow yourself to dream. In your dream you have a huge hairy dog. Both of you are rolling on the ground, playing and giggling while you allow it to get hairs on your clothes and face. But this dream is cut short when you walk down the street and one stray comes out of nowhere and snarls at you. Then you suddenly remember that you're in the real world.

Double sigh.

Let me just say that my Mama is vere sweet. I'll write about her one day. For now, enjoy!

My Mama and I - Episode 333

The scene opened with Yours Truly combing her hair, twisting this way and that in front of the mirror. Finally convinced that the hair was straight enough, she walked to where her Mama was seated and lowered her behind at her feet.

"Plait my hair, Mama," she said.

"Huh?" Mama gave her a quizzical look.

"Plait my hair. Plait am well well. Make im soft. I don comb am," she said again in pidgin, pointing at her hair.

Silence.

She turned. Mama's eyes were closed, her head bent.

"What're you doing?" She asked.

"I dey sleep," Mama replied, her eyes still closed and a half smile on her lips.

"You're sleep talking?"

"Leave me alone, this young girl. I dey sleep."

Yours truly nudged Mama's left arm, Mama swerved to the right direction. Thinking about change your style nursery rhyme, Yours Truly chuckled. She nudged Mama's right arm. Mana swerved to the left direction, laughing.

"Your hair is too strong."

"Not anymore. I'm using something on it."

Mama was still laughing. Yours Truly touched Mama's face, turning it left and right.

"Your face is becoming bony."

"I had you when I was thirty, young lady. I'm not your mate," Mama said with a serious expression on her face.

"You had my big brother at eighteen."

"Mmm."

Mama was now plaiting the hair. Yours Truly wanted to tell Mama to stop giving her the 'what are you up to?' look whenever a boy visited. Having a child at eighteen meant she started having sex quite early, though legally. At eighteen, Yours Truly was buried in her school books. She wasn't interested in men and their bunch. But she didn't want to spoil the moment. She just laid her head on Mama's laps and closed her eyes.


dawww.gif

Yeah, I know. 'Cos I'm nice ahaha


Thanks for stopping by!
What are your thoughts?

Sort:  

Hello @chinyerevivian, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you. Much appreciated.

On dogs, i felt exactly the same till we got robbed and my dad had to purchase an Alsatian the next morning. 7 years down the drain and i cant live in a world without dogs.

Robin Williams once told an orphan "you think i understand how hard life must have been for you just because i read Oliver Twist?"

My point: no matter how far you read, some things can only be gotten by experience. It's either you feel it or you dont. Leave the books, grab a puppy. thank me later.

I actually like dogs, though I've never had one. I may get a puppy in the near future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80