Sort:  

I have never studied poetry so i have never heard the word 'enjambments'... cool word. Also I never realized there were specific styles . I think I change my styles up and sometimes within a piece, but for some reason I almost always loved to keep 'i' lower case. I always felt it was much more humble and soft like that, and I am not sure I had seen it done before, but when I read that last poem of yours it gave me a sweet sense of familiarity that I couldn't put my finger on.... until I realized it was the i's :) Don't know how I found you but I'm glad I did- cheers!

Oh- I see @diebitch resteemed you that's how haha

Well I'm glad you found me. Happy you found the post enlightening. Thanks for reading!

Another great session. Conservation of language can be difficult at first, especially to those who are used to writing other things (e.g. academic papers for uni). It's necessary to find the balance between the rhythm and the conservation. I have recently read some poems in which the lines were a bit too long, and it is a shame that a beautiful metaphor or message can be weakened by useless words filling the nonexistent gaps.

As for the rest, I like how you presented three styles. I know you said nobody will criticise you for using the first, but when reading, I know that it does affect me. There's a bias and I tend to dislike that first style. Maybe it is wrong to 'judge' on things such as capitalisation; however, I also study psychology and realistically, we all will have subconscious biases before reading just based on the layout and styles. I tend to prefer the second style, however, I have used the third style as it works perfectly for certain poems. I once read a whole poetry collection using the third style (maybe it had a little bit more punctuation, but no capitalisation) -- it was divine. It really works for some poets, as long as the style of the poem fits the writing style.

Yeah, I agree with this. I'm also quite averse to the first style. It really makes poems look and read much heavier, though it's potentially a useful gear to switch into if you want to bring that to the page.

I tend to use the second style but, on occasion, switch into e e cummings mode when I feel the work warrants it.

Thanks for reading and for your insightful comments.

Nice article. it spells out clearly the approach that needs to be taken. punctuation is always a mystifying thing. different styles of writing use punctuation very differently. some completely eliminate it and others sprinkle it in. these examples yield a little more clarity into your thoughts

Great educational resource @damianjayclay. I am constantly trying to pare down my poetry, especially in the case of preposition use. It's a tenant of poetry for me that it should be a focused streamlining of meaning. A constant striving for the purest expression of imagery.

I agree. I'm not averse to prepositions though, especially when removing them disrupts the flow and makes the lines feel truncated.

Hello @damianjayclay, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Every aspiring poet would profit by simply reading this series. So many clunky poems have no feeling at all for the rhythm, grace and color of words. Bless you for writing this.

The-STEEM-Engine

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #137 (5/17/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06