Happy Face

in #writing5 years ago

happy face.jpg

Few words have to power to sink my heart faster than hearing my son ask why don’t I sound happy. This usually happens when I return home from work low and depressed. I would like to say those words instantly melt away my woes but that would be a lie.

Similar variations have been asked in the past. “Why don’t you smile.” or Why aren‘t you happy?” each one met with as much of a fake smile as I could muster. It's hard for me to fake both the physical smile and equally convincing tone of voice.

The questions seem so strait forward. Why am I not happy?

Explaining to him in my mind would be next to quantum physics. but that‘s me, that my “adult” mind complications matters. In reality the answer is so simplistically simple that even his four year old mind would be able to tell me the strait forward solution.

I'm not writing about that today. I write enough about my depressing state of mind. I want to keep it light right now. I want to write about Happy Face.

I wish I could remember the first happy face but I guess that dose not matter. It's a game my son and I play. A simple game where we make the happiest face we can muster and hold it while ticking or chasing after each other. Often times this simple game with this fake smile has the power to change moods. After a while once the happy face game is over, my smile does not entirely give way to the emotionless mug I came home with.

Maybe I should try out Happy Face at my work. It may not work but the reactions on my co-workers faces would be definitely be worth the effort.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83