The untold story of Para-Fiction

in #writing6 years ago

fantasy-2847724_1920.jpg

The untold story of Para-Fiction

Of all the books I’ve ever loved, I’ve never encountered one as dull as works based on the paranormal, ghosts or true hauntings. Maybe because, for me, they land in the literary cracks between fiction and non-fiction where The story might be genuine but the facts....let's say they're questionable.

Still, now and again, I’ll open a book or two that my wife has. (I have counted over thirty-four titles on one bookshelf alone) and read a few of the articles. I admit to finding an interest in those pages. A much-loved bartender who is still slinging drinks after hours. Or an alleged haunted asylum where the inmates never escaped. I can find tragedy and heart-warming memories too, but that's as for as it reaches for me. To this day I don’t suppose I have ever completed an entire book involving ghost legends.

Now my wife is a savant on one thousand and one things ghosts including your ghost hunting shows. The more well known of which is Ghost Hunters and Ghost Adventures

Most of the time I watch these shows with her. They did not fascinate me but interested Sure, the authenticity of these shows might be vague but that's part of the show. Call it Para-fiction.

So what changed? Why could I not give a scream for ghosts portrait in books yet encounter a bona fide enthusiasm when shifted to a new medium?

The subject didn't diminish, either did the stories and accounts. In fact, the sole distinction was the video programs used a host. And not just any host but one who maintains a genuine and enduring passion for the paranormal. Not to mention a flair for the theatrical. (Zak Bagans).

I don’t need Stephen King’s voice to enjoy a horror novel or Sylvia Plath insight to appreciate poetry or William Zingers wit to get a better sense of a non-fiction piece. But for the paranormal, I need that something extra to carry my interests until the next distraction.

A good storyteller can turn a glimmer of interest and twist it into a thriving fire of curiosity. These hosts may not always find their ghost, but they always leave us with a good story to tell.

Sort:  

I gave you a positive vote in your publication! Please, give me a next vote! "Your publication has a lot of value, I'm also creating quality content, if you like you can visit me"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13