When the blank page laughs at you write this…

in #writing5 years ago

pen.jpg

It’s a psychological trick. A way to jump start a story. At first this will sound like plagiarism but I assure you it is not. It simply is one of the many ways to get your creative juices flowing. It works for me, somethings, and other times not.

It’s all in the start. At least it is for me. Once I can get past that first paragraph or two I’m usually golden. The story may still come out smelling like a sewer farted but the words still flow and the end still wraps itself up.

I first thought of this idea when I read about how Hunter Thomson typed out The Great Gatsby and A farewell of arms (As well as other works from Faulkner) word for word. It was a method for learning prose rhythm. He wanted to know what it felt like to write a masterpiece.

I want to feel that too. I am not recommending you type out your favorite book(s) word for word (although I’m not not recommending that)But what I am suggestion is borrowing a paragraph or two form a story you like to jump start you own literary works.

When I am jump start your story I am not telling you to actually use the paragraph (or sentence) but use it as a jumping off point to get your creative mind pumping. Once you knocked out a decent amount of copy, then go back and rewrite your opening (or whatever section you needed a boost) so that anything you use in your own original voice.

An Example…
Inspired by Neil Gaiman, I stared off with the opening line from one of his short stories, Don’t ask Jack

Nobody knew where the toy had come from, which great-grandparent or distant aunt had owned it before it was given to the nursery.
I typed those words out, from there I wrote part of a short story, once I felt I was on to something, I went back and changed the original borrowed copy. I ended up with the opening line to my own story, Left behind.

Nobody knew where the martini glass came from. It was left on the counter among the empty beer bottles and up side down shot glasses.
Now usually when I do this I end up with something completely different from the original text. In this case the first sentence is a little more similar then I like but I think it worked out fine.

Is this a form or plagiarism? I don’t think so. It’s just another way to enhance the writing process. No different then using a writing prompt. If your not comfortable with it then by all means don’t do it. But I think it is worth a try at least once. What could it hurt?

This is a re-post from another blog of mine- It is still original

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85