Nightmares

in #writing6 years ago

B23EBD47-B386-4EE7-B90D-2552893A93C0.jpeg

Come inside my mind, it’s dark in here. Writing out some thoughts about nightmares because I can’t sleep.


I used to see a lot of nightmares, almost every night, which obviously fucked up my poor sleeping habits even more. I’ve noticed that if I’m on a good mood, I don’t experience nightmares that easily. I used to be really down, anxious and stressed prior to the full time Steemian life, and saw nightmares very often.

Since forever, my nightmares have been about the same things, either me or my family being in some sort of danger.

The events would always play out in the same setting. If my family is in danger in a dream, the event unfolds in our home home in the countryside. If I’m the one in distress, it’s always a nightmare of someone entering my apartment here in the city.

I’ve had the nightmares about my family being in distress since I was a child. In reality, they have always been quite safe, but I’m very protective and I have a horribly vivid imagination. If I don’t wake up in the middle of the dream, I end up doing very brutal things to whom ever threatens my family. I have shot people, driven a car over them, and gouged out someones eyes with my bare hands. So if anyone ever comes at my family, I already have years of experience of how to brutally kill the enemies.

My other, more often occuring nightmare is about someone entering my apartment. The nightmares started after a little insident I had years ago, one very early morning after an afterparty at my apartment. One of my then co-worker was the last one to leave the party, and as my doorbell rang only fifteen-ish seconds after, I obviously thought it was him forgetting something, and opened the door without hesitasion. Well it wasn’t him, but another man, clearly high on something. He tried to get into my apartment but after I firmly told him to step off, and I was ready to kick him down the stairs that start right next to my door, he moved a little so I could close the door. Trembling, I texted to my co-worker and he said that the man had actually followed him down the stairs, but them went to the elevator to go back up, obviously to my doorstep. The police was here in a few minutes and picked up the man.

Ever since that insident, I have had nightmares about someone trying to enter my apartment. There is different variations of the dream, but often they keep going in circles where I go pull the door close, and after a moment, it’s open again and someone is standing in the doorway. Sometimes I get those sleep paralysis episodes where I’m sure someone is approaching my bed but I can’t move or scream, those are the worst! I think what often triggers the dream is if I hear someone stumbling to the apartment next to me, or being so drunk that accidentally tries the keys to my door. That has happened more than a few times.

There is a new addition to the nightmare list, though it’s kinda funny.

Last night I had a horrible nightmare about my camera being stolen, just as I was leaving on some new trip abroad. I have never before had any nightmares about possessions being stolen or damaged, little surprising considering my materialistic tendensies.

It’s a little hard to remember dreams accurately, but I remember being in serious distress about it. I was threatened to hand my camera over, and I pleaded to the robber to let me keep the memory card. I don’t remember in a dream what footage I might have had on there, but clearly it was really important to me. Probably it was sunset number 17363.... One thing I remember thinking was that the insurance would cover the loss of the camera and I could get a new one, but as I was already on my way to the airport or something like that, I wouldn’t get it in time and I was absolutely devastated by that, and the lost images.

I think my subconcious is telling me that I care about my family, myself, and my camera. So don’t touch any of those, or I will cut you, mkay?


I’m not sure if this was the smartest thing to write about before going to sleep, but oh well, I had an inspiration. And yes, the picture is clickbait level 110, I was actually trying to find a different, darker image but couldn’t, so that is what you get.

Regardless of the topic, good night and sweet dreams!

Sort:  

Sleep is fucking weird.

Also good, sleeping is nice when it’s without nightmares.

Agreed... It's the best.... but also so weird...

and I kid you not. Last night I had a dream that I lost my camera lens and I blame you 100%.

A few years back I tried to get into a music festival in LA with a GoPro and they wouldnt let me bring it in.... I decided to hide it in a bush and luckily it was still there at the end of the night. Last night in my dream it was a deja-vu situation except with my big ol' camera lens... except I forgot to pick it up after the show and somehow I ended up back home without it and I woke up like 'FUCK I NEED TO FLY BACK AND GET MY LENS FROM THE BUSH!'
lolol so thanks

Omg I'm so sorry if I inflicted that dream to you 😅😅

Out of all the dreams your STEEM posts can cause... of course it had to be that one.... 😬

Clickbutt photo brought me here! Disturbing but honest content kept me here and made me comment! Sounfs like you’re a fighter and not willing to give up on anything you hold dear and you get a side of gangster in you! If you were a gang member would you be a blood or a crip?

Fighter for sure, wouldn’t be here otherwise. But I’m not gangsta enough to know what are blood and crip in this context.

Sleep paralysis is terrifying, if I get it which isnt often, its when I just go to sleep and it feels like I'm buried alive; Im concious but its completely black and I am unable to move. At first I panic, but with experience now I realise whats happening and even though I want to scream, I just wait, and try to move my finger a tiny bit, I know it's just a matter of time until waking. So now I'm in charge, its a lot less scary.

It's the same with repetitive dreams, tell yourself the next time you have that dream, you will realise it's a dream, and that it's harmless. I read some people even take charge in their dreams and can do what the like, so called lucid dreaming.

I hope you slept well :)

Sometimes I am aware it’s a dream and can wake myself up, but only rarely. It’s pretty frustrating espesially when it’s the same dreams always, like hey, I already know how this is going to end so could we wrap this up faster 😅

Yeah exactly the right attitude, stupid dreams wasting my time, I could be dreaming of ice cream and unicorns :)

Finland is a semi-free country, you could get a gun. Then you just have to worry about someone stealing your gun ;) I think your camera represents more than a camera. That clickbait was spectacular.

Yeah, I really should get one. Or I’m just gonna get a man that has a gun 😝 I guess the camera represent the memories I capture with it, and the mean for making a living. The clickbait ass thanks you.

Nah, those dudes are crazy ;)
No thanks needed clickbait ass, it was my pleasure.

Ahahaha I confess, the ckickbait got me, but enjoyed the stories! :) My only recurrent(ish) nightmare envolves my teeth starting to fall from my mouth... scary! Sweet dreams!

Oh god, I didn’t remember it until now but I have had a similar nightmare a couple times too, but not loosing all the teeth.

I think it's more or less common, know a few friends that had it too... teeth fall off without apparent reason!

I've had sleep paralysis occasionally, and it's definitely pretty uncomfortable. I've happily been spared any serious nightmares, though.

I used to have the opposite quite a bit, though—where I was so ecstatic in the dream for one reason or another that having to wake up and going back to real life felt like a traumatic loss.

Fortunately, my waking life is happy and comfortable enough these days that I really haven't had any sleep disturbances of either sort for quite some time. Except for that darned alarm clock that keeps going off every morning...

Yeah it sucks equally as much to see a really good dream, and then having to wake from it. I had a childhood dream about a candy stash, and literally went to check if they were there when I woke up, they weren’t 😞 That damn alarm clock, so annoying. Luckily I don’t have to wake to an alarm very often anymore.

Now its a great time to share what nightmare I saw last night. You know im going to Iceland right? In my dreams I saw that 30 minutes before I should have to start driving towards the airport, I remembered that I havent packed my bags and cleared my memorycards, this made me panic. Somehow I spawned in airport a little later and securityman was holding me back. I had olny 15 min to get to the plane. I just told this guy to fuck off and I ran lol. And then... Just before going on a plane I realized that I had lost my hand luggage. Camera, purse, everything was lost or stolen and I had 2 minutes left to go on board. After this I woke up heart beating like crazy. I was so happy it wasnt real :D

I think someone is getting pretty damn excited about the Iceland trip already! 😁 I hope everything goes well in real life and you don’t forget anything.

Hi, I'm an old and reputable member of Steemit, but now I need an urgent financial help from you, my friends and whole Steemit community. I don't have enough money to get home, I need about $80 to make it. Please send me Steem to this account or LTC to my address:
LguYTiSwVMHdEDmMvBFvSKkYY7E4gebbCs

Plase, don't flag me. I wouldn't ask you if I wasn't in such a hard situation right now.

I'll be able to return all Steem/sbd you send me within one month. Thank you for your help!

i was in dillema whether to reply or not, but if you need only 80 bucks getting home, then you're probably very close to it. didn't it ocurr to you to walk? and please, dont flag me

I recall one nightmare. Fighting with bears in the countryside. This is weird but I don't remember my other nightmares or my dreams.

Find a dick or get yourself in a gun range.

Find a dick from the gun range 😏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78