Observations from the Other Side

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

DDF59F57-E356-412D-A5B3-8DBD09BA8E09.jpeg

I am the kind of person who will walk to the other side of the street to avoid coming in contact with someone trying to hand me a flyer, sell me something on the street, ask if I wanna answer their questionnare or ask would I like to donate to help promote indigenious frog rights. To people who work for a power company or sell phone plans, I always say I’m already their customer and hurry off. And I’m always soooo busy, late for a meeting on just about to make a call. I will make it my mission to look like I should not be bothered, and I avoid eye contact like I was in Birdbox.

Today I tried just how frustrating and annoying it is to be the person who hands out flyers and tries to get people to go to the companys booth to talk more. I knew it was going to be annoying and I would be very far off my comfort zone, but I took the day as it were reseach and a people watching opportunity. I did hate every second of it, but at least will make a few bucks by writing about it.

I was volunteering (read:slave labour as a favour for my mother) to hand out flyers for a roof construction company. The breefing for it lasted for a minute and off I went to walk around the halls. It was so_hard to go up to a random people and try to hand them a flyer and say that they should go visit the booth and take part in a raffle where they can win a roof maintanence.

I’m super shy by nature and I had to gather all my confidence to walk up to random people. I got turned down a lot, and by this point, the guys will say, yeah that is what life is for ugly men, and worse because it’s personal, mine was business which I wasn’t even any way related to. I wasn’t really fazed by the rejection, I knew it would happen a lot, and it’s nothing personal. But it is so awkward to try and speak to someone and they cut you off before you finish a sentence. But it is what it is and I will still do the same when I’m the one being stopped by someone.

Majority who didn’t completely turn me down, has surprisingly just had their roof fixed or had a new house altogether. It’s funny but I totally get it, it’s an easy thing to shut say to down the conversation.

I mainly targeted older men (hello gold digger me) because they are always nice to pretty young things like myself, and yeah, I said that because from their point of view, it’s pretty much a fact and I know it and will use it for my advantage. I did get a few compliments on my looks from sweet old men, that being the only perk for the day. The other reason for me to approach older men and couples was that they probably own a house so they would be the democraph the company is targeted towards. No use in approaching young people, we all broke or live in apartment buildings.

Finnish people in general are super awkward, and it’s funny if you can push through your own awkwardness to observe both your own and other peoples. I stumble in my words very easily, especially when it’s a subject and situation I’m not familiar with, but so do the people I approached. We say the weirdest things when we are not prepared for the question and just want to get out of the situation.

The funniest thing someone said to me clearly without much thinking was:”we already have a roof”, and walked away. Well good for you sir, I’m happy to hear that.

By the way, approaching people didn’t get any easier at any point of the day, just harder and the minutes went by so slowly, it was killing me. By the time I had toured the convention floor for four hours, I hid in the bathroom for a good while to text with friends and scroll Steemit. And started writing a draft for this piece.

A0CFAC70-F632-4559-BC68-71F11D365FBE.jpeg

Now the day is over and I got through it without embarrasing myself too much, I do walk with my head high anyways and smile easily when talking to people, even when I mumble something weird.

I will say with a 99% certainty that I will never ever do anything like this again. Unless someone pays me, a lot. All I got for this was a red hoodie and my moms gratitude, the latter I will save for when I want mom to bake or cook me something.

Ps. I ended up walking 8 kilometres in 13cm heeled booties, how’s that for a workout for my legsies!?

Sort:  

I'm sorry, but if you were targeting people who don't have roofs, what were you expecting? :P Most people have 'em these days, you know. Be stupid to just have four walls sitting around like that ;)

promote indigenious frog rights

Must say I'm disappointed. You don't care about indigenous frogs? :O :P

Maybe I should have started with:"Excuse me, do you have a roof?"

I imagine that sort of thing is good for people with our personalities every once in a while. I am lumping you into a personality type with me, for good or bad :) I too avoid sales people as much as possible, but then when I get trapped I end up being too nice.

That sort of terrible job must really make you appreciate how you don't have to do it.

I don't mind being in the same lump with you :P

If sales people knew me, they'd know that I buy a lot more stuff if nobody bothers me. That is why I love online shopping, I get to look at things at peace and compare to what other shops have to offer.

That is a really good point! Really makes me a lot more motivated to keep blogging more and with better content. I don't wanna end up working as a flyer handing person next summer :D

Too bad you didn't have a stamp - "steemit.com/@eveuncovered"
You could have stamped the back of all the flyers before handing them out. 😁

Hahaha that would have been a greta marketing strategy. I wonder, would people have been more interested about the roofs, or Steemit. I think Steemit would have won.

Genius! Or those lovely Polaroid business cards that a few lucky Steemians at SF made off with 👀

@eveuncovered, my love.. I think you could have sold everyone a roof AND onboarded them. Get on this girl! ❤️

AH but the people in there were such normies, I wouldn't waste my polaroids on them ;)

¨ The funniest thing someone said to me clearly without much thinking was:”we already have a roof”, and walked away. Well good for you sir, I’m happy to hear that.

Hah hah!

Really cheered up my day!

That's the type of shit I would probably say if someone came up to me :D

I usually say to them: "Please let's find another job", or just nothing and keep walking on my way. I know it can be a bit rough, but in my little I try to discourage people from doing these shit jobs

Posted using Partiko Android

Freedom to slave frogs ✌️🤘✊🏻🐸 Vrock

Posted using Partiko iOS

Long live the frog king!

suomi finland perkele😋(once upon a metal fan)

A mother’s gratitude is indeed a valuable asset ;)

Use it wisely...

Will I waste on something small what I'm graving and get instant gratification, of will I save it for a rainy day, who knows who knows.

This reminded me of my old job in sales. When I first got in I was awkward and I hated the idea of talking to people but I was forced. Now I can easily break the ice with strangers. I’m so thankful to be out of that field! I like having the freedom to happily avoid unnecessary conversations whenever I’d like and I want to keep it that way.

I have a friend that used to do this line of business and he wouldn’t take no for an answer. Ah go on, and he would nudge them with his elbow and ask them on a date especially the 60-70 year olds . They loved it. Some people are made for it. Like you , I am not one of them. 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

I admire people who are great at talking to strangers!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77