Reality Check: Head in the Clouds, Feet Firmly on the Ground?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I’m a dreamer, always have been. Even though I’d like to think I have a good percentage of realist in me, it’s not always the case. Sometimes I get a tad bit too dreamy and my feet are higher than the 5 inch heels I’m wearing, above the ground level.


For the past ten years or so, I’ve had a certain Mr Hyde in my life, who keeps me in check in those times when I get a little too high, and seem like I can’t get back down on my own accord. It’s time for tough love baby girl.

Mr Hyde usually fires a couple warning shots, but if that doesn’t get my hot air balloon back from the stratosphere, he’s not afraid to fire a whole round of ammo to it, blunging me to the icy Baltic Sea. Sometimes I feel like a piñata, a marionette, carcass on the desert or a roadkill bunny. Still, nine times out of ten, I had it coming and he was right to make me feel like so.

He gives me a serious dose of real, day to day, normal life and the ugly side of all that has to do with humanity. Slap in the face. It's a dirty and nasty shot of verbal reality and I have no choice but to take it. Sometimes I act like a little kid, putting my hands over my ears, trying to mute the ugly sounds bursting my pretty pink bubble. I am good at hide and seek but Mr Hyde has a military training and he always finds me. And then I take the beating and listen.

After digging the shotgun rounds out of my insides and licking the salt out of my wounds, I eventually come crawling back, grateful of the much needed reality check.


Living on the internet, among the digital nomads and crypto currency evangelists, and having experienced the all time highs, it’s easy to get swept off your feet by promises of riches and freedom, the new world order. Travel the world, do hardly any work but earn enough to make all your dreams come true and live happily ever after. Nope.

Ain’t no such thing as free lunches, not even in the decentralized world of blockchain technology.

But one can dream. Dream of the Lambos, millions of dollars, richness in friends and love, the freedom of travelling around the world. You just need to keep your feet on the ground and work hard to make it happen, but running without aim will take you nowhere good. Mr Hyde also reminds me to enjoy the success I have achieved so far, to take a deep breath and stay still for a while.

Thank you Mr Hyde for grounding me when ever I need it.


Are you a dreamer and if so, who keeps you grounded?

Sort:  

Definitely a dreamer. Most of us on Steemit are probably dreamers. I dream about everything though, from a great marriage to a beautiful house to beautiful children etc.

What, or rather who keeps me on the ground, however, is my girlfriend. She is the person who takes my pink glasses off gently (rather than ripping them off like my mom does) and explains to me that everything in the world isn't as beautiful as it might seem to me.

I dream about the same things. It sounds like your girlfriend is a keeper! :D

I think all of us on here are dreamers, or maybe just believers! I wish I had more time for Steemit, but it's awesome to see people like you that really put in the time! @vtravels commitment already puts me to shame too! Always like to catch up with your feed when I'm on though, think I just need to find my routine again!

YEah V has been super active! I see you finally posted a new article too, I'm always looking forward to those, have to read it carefully later today :)

How sweet<3...now he might want to cuddle with you after waterboarding ;)

The slaps of reality try to keep me grounded, but I slap back. I remain the maldaptive daydreamer, a high functioning procrastinator. YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Are you sure about the high functioning part?

I AM A MACHINE

Buen trabajo amigo.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I think that I am both the dreamer and voice of reason that keeps me grounded. I want to reach things that many would likely consider impossible or at least unrealistic. I do not think that these things are out of my reach. But at the same time I understand that I will reach these heights only if I will continue to improve and master myself. Achieving something extraordinary is more difficult than settling for something common. That is the natural order of things. So I can only be patient and keep moving towards my goals. I am stubborn. Most of the time am not listening if someone else tries to tell me that I can't do something or/ that my dreams are too big. That is their reality, their limitations and fears.

I've heard that after America, Finland is the 2nd most armed nation in the world. As far as ordinary people and of course, as far as 'west' countries are concerned

Must be something in the stars currently, it appear this Mr Hyde has been busy giving people a reality check. I myself could o with a visit from him although I am aware I am not 100% grounded I know what I need to o to bring myself down I just won't allow myself to do it currently. But from reading a few posts here today it seems its working its way around 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29