Stop and Smell the Flowers

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

flo1.jpg

ScrollscrollscrollupvotescrollscrollscrollikesceollscrollscrillprettyscrollscrollscrollinterestingscrollscrolllikescrollscrollScrollscrollscrollupvotescrollscrollscrollikesceollscrollscrillprettyscrollscrollscrollinterestingscrollscrolllikescrollscroll.

Stop scrolling. Stop it!



You just scrolled through 50 pictures, glanced at 15 articles, lolled at ten memes, read 20 Facebook statuses, looked at another 50 pictures, stared at 20 peoples Instastories, and you haven’t even gotten out of bed yet. What do you remember from the last 30 minutes? Did anything stick out? Did you really read any of it? Can you describe any of the pictures you saw? You saw a lot, but did you really see anything?

What value did any of that have to your life?


Maybe you chuckled inside for that one meme, even forwarded to your likeminded friend, upvoted another friends post about their day in the amusement park with the kids, and maybe you spend all of three seconds looking at an instafamous booty. I bet most of what you saw, you had no use for and could have spend the time for something much better. How about if you stopped for more than a split second and really gave some thought to what you are seeing.

We are living in a digital era that feeds our short attention span and throws up new information and images to our faces every second of every day, and night. Much more than we ever need.

Flashing lights, magic tricks, blood, guts, sorrow, money, fame, LOOK AT ME!


I think the information overflow leads to people using shock value to get attention to what they are doing or writing about. Clickbait titles, nudity, vulgar language, horror stories, bad behaviour beyond comprehension to the average person. Everyone trying to one up each other to get attention. You can see this on social media all the time, people trying to get their 15 minutes of fame and even traditional news sites are going down the same route.

I’m not saying that I’m some sort of a saint who would never use any of those tricks to bring attention to me, or that my content is so valuable that all of you should stop and pay close attention to everything I post. It’s a personal preference.

What do you want to see?


What is it that we care about and want to see more of?

I think we all need to be more mindful of what is important to us, and what we want to pay attention to. I for one hate clickbait titles, people acting like idiots for the shock value, and I’m kinda bored by fitness and memes, so I stay away from all of those. I don’t give them any more attention, I don’t click them open, I don’t read the news, I don’t care. I’m much more happier spending my time connection with people I care about, looking at art I find beautiful and reading about the subjects I’m interested in.

If there is something bothering you, if you don’t want to see certain people, certain content in the media, you need to stop giving it attention. Any attention! Because all publicity is good publicity.

STOP! Stop and smell the flowers. Or what ever floats your boat.


flo2.jpg

Sort:  

Reading the first part it was as if you described what my mornings looked like a few years ago. The magic of filtering out crap is a skill you gain along the way so you can really enjoy the "Stop and smell the roses" part :)

Mine still look like that at times, but I'm actively trying to change that because I know it does me no good!

That's why I love steempeak.com. Don't know if you've ever heard of it but just in case do give it shot. You'll love it :)

I was just scrollscrollscroll-ing. I find that based on my mood I either am completely unsocial and scroll through everything but the handful of people I know; or I'm excessively social and I'm all "75 percent of this is great! Why don't I read everything all the time!?" And then the next day I'm back to scrolling.

I guess sometimes we just can't handle all the stimulation.

I get into the scrolling mood at times too, but after I've mindlessly done it for a while, I realise I have just wasted a lot of precious time!

Stop and smell the bilberries.

I have a extention on chrome which blocks facebooks newsfeed xD I can only see notifications :D
And I have been more and more on steemit, where I read stuff, just not scroll through :D

You can do just as much scrolling in here too, but I or course incourage everyone to take their time to read and write, not just blindly scroll and upvote :)

I look at the tags which I am most interested in and see if something catches my attetion.
Not gonna read every single post in one topic if the title or picture isn't interesting.

Well of course you have to scroll a little to find something of interested.

hmm i can feel the freshness and beautiful smell of flowers.

"I’m kinda bored by fitness"
Are you saying that you would like me even if I would gain weight and get fat? That is nice of you😝

No, I just don't wanna read about it, do it myself, or look at fitness pictures.

Gambar yang sangat indah dan menarik,, salam kenal @eveuncovered

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73