My Childhood Writing - #9 - To Serve Man

in #writing5 years ago

I have dug into my old files and have excavated my old childhood writings out of the antiquated file format they were saved in. I am copying them into new formats and decided that I should go ahead and put these out into the world. The "poems" and stories were all written 26 years ago when I was about 12 years old in 1992 and very few of them were shown to anyone outside my family. Now that I am reading through them I am cringing, A LOT! I started to edit the wording but decided I'm better off leaving the writing as is since this was how I wrote at that time.


To Serve Man was a story originally written by Damon Knight in the 1950s - Read the entire short story here. It was a short science fiction story that was published in an issue of Galaxy Science Fiction. The story was later adapted to television by Rod Serling for The Twilight Zone episode bearing the same name.

In 1993 I had read the original short story and I remember clearly the story line continuing in my mind. This was my attempt at that continuation and I can see where it was going, but there is a LOT that I would edit now. For an early attempt and essentially a rough draft I do feel it still has a bit of potential to further the story.

As a side note, the Twilight Zone episode starred Richard Kiel who was in James Bond movies and a host of others. He lived half an hour from my childhood home and I went to school with his kids. I remember well as a grade schooler wrestling against his son and he would be there at our school to watch the matches. We would all stood around him and his autograph was a tracing of his hand on a sheet of printer paper, it filled the entire page! He truly was a gentle giant!

"It's a cookbook," he said.

"ah... ah... ah... a cook book?" I gasped.

"Yes it's a cookbook and it is disgusting! It tells you all the details for gutting us in only the first paragraph!"Grigori was shaking and sputtering the whole time he was talking.

At my office\home that night I started packing my two suitcases. The Kanamit never said anything about not taking baggage with us. I had the bottom drawer of my desk open and was examining the contents when Grigori walked in. He came over and stood there next to my desk staring at the drawer.

"What in God's name is all that stuff?" He asked.

"It's fifteen bottles of my own special blend. Two drops of this stuff in each person on this ship will kill every Kanamit who eat us. In other words, it makes us poisonous." I had said all of this matter of factly.

"So this is what you have been hiding from me all this time." Grigori said laughingly.

Our ship left eight days later. There were 265 of us crammed into four rooms, each the size of a car. We had a little box in each room that gave all the food that we wanted. Everyone was eating and eating until they were so full that they couldn't eat any more. Grigori and I weren't eating anything because we knew that the Kanamits wanted us to be all fat and plump so that we would taste good.

We were hurtling towards the Kanamits home planet at tremendous speeds. "hhhhmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm..." The entire place was starting to hum a verse of Beethoven's fifth.

"What are we doing here?" Grigori asked me. "I don't know about you but I am here to save life on earth as we knew it." I told him suspiciously.

"I just hope that stuff of yours works on the Kanamits." Grigori said hopefully.

"EVERYONE BE QUIET!" I yelled.

I told them about my plan to poison everyone and most people agreed. I told them that the Kanamits were going to eat them and then the Kanamits will die.

"Will this stuff hurt us right now?" someone asked.

"No it will just kill the Kanamits." I lied.

This stuff could kill an elephant in one quick shot. The only reason that it doesn't kill humans is because humans have an immunity to it. We got to the planet after about three days. The Kanamit took us all into holding chambers. While we waited I gave everyone the poison.

"I hope that this works or you will be toast." A man said plainly.

The Kanamits came and took us to a giant kitchen. There was four chefs who came by and inspected us. They would sniff us, feel our bellies, legs, arms, and finally our heads. One of the chefs had come to me and started to jabber something in his language. The other three came over and the head chef asked me why I wasn't eating. I told him it was a ritual fast. He looked closely at my ear and then took the other chefs aside. They were talking for quite a while. When they came back they asked me why I wanted to poison them.

"You want to eat me? Well no way Jose." I told them.

"If we can't eat you then they all will die." The head chef told me.

I chuckled to myself about how stupid they were. "No.. no... Nooooooooooooo...." I could here the first person go down their throats.

Grigori and I got sent back to earth to fatten up. We got back and I went straight to my office. There I moved my desk, pulled up the rug, and started to open my hidden safe. Grigori asked, "What are you getting?"

"The other eight hundred bottles of poison that I made during the last year." I told him.

We told everyone we knew to tell their friends, and they tell their friends, and their friends, and their friends until all the people in the world knew that we were going to give them the drops of the poison. The next two months we were constantly giving out drops. The whole next two years people were shuttled up to the planet. More and more Kanamits died until they finally gave up hope and left us alone.

BTS = jwf

Token = FFFARM

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!




Learn how to join the Byteball WCG Distribution!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 1 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 15 SBD worth and should receive 253 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14