A day that will live in infamy: The burn-pile fire incident of 1979

in #writing5 years ago

I've always been fascinated with fire; I find it captivating and relaxing. There's something pleasing about moments spent around the fire, gazing into its depths, the dance of the flames and the crackle of wood burning. To me fire seems wholesome and comforting.

You can see one of my campfires in this image; It was a pretty good one too! This fire is in its early stages with thick logs happily burning away. Later it burned down to low embers, throwing a comforting heat and allowing me to stretch my legs towards it, tilt my head skyward and star watch.

You can even see a few foil-wrapped potato's in the foreground cooking on the coals...Yep, it's wholesome. baked potato's slathered with butter...Yum!

But alas, my fires have not always been so wholesome. My fascination with fire wasn't always relaxing, peaceful and idyllic. I don't mean I was a pyromaniac or anything like that, just that sometimes fire got me into a little bit of trouble. Pesky fire!

One such occasion was when I was about 8 years old...I was raised in a small country town and we had a bit of land which, over the period of a year, would generate waste. My parents had a burn-pile, the bonfire we called it, out in the back paddock and over the year it would grow larger with just about anything that would burn: Garden clippings, tree branches, general household rubbish and the like. Once a year we would burn it off and, as you can imagine for a little fire-loving kid like me burn-pile fire day was a great day!

The day of the infamous burn-pile incident of 1979 started like any other, only that for me it was fuelled by the excitement of the impending festivities, namely the burning of the bonfire. I hardly felt like eating although I managed to shovel some Vegemite toast and a few gulps of orange juice into my gob before I raced out to the back paddock to survey the gigantic burn-pile. It was magnificent! Seriously, the best one in all of my nine whole years of life. I didn't know the dimensions at the time of course, but thinking now it would have been around 15 metres long, 8 metres wide and some 2-3 metres high, give or take. A big pile which would burn for over a day and smoulder for 2-3 days. You bloody ripper!

We would have to tend the fire, pushing stray bits into the flames to ensure a clean burn...So much fun, playing with fire. It was pretty cool that I was raised to know how to properly treat fire too. It was an important skill. Everything was set for one of the greatest days of my life and I was itching to get going...Although it was a little windy.

The bonfire was off and I was crestfallen! I'd waited all year for this. Now, looking back I understand completely. Isn't the clarity of hindsight wonderful? It would have been irresponsible to light that fire in those conditions and even though we had made a fire-break to prevent the entire paddock from lighting up it was deemed by my grandfather to be too dangerous. Everyone went back to the house to other tasks...It was a large property so there was always something to do. But my mind strayed back to that fire-pile begging for a match to get it started.

Now don't judge here, but I simply couldn't stand the thought of that pile just sitting there all by itself and so I went back to the paddock to visit it. I said hello, wandered around, prodded some of the tree-waste further onto the pile, looked skward and felt the stiff breeze on my face, cursed it...And cast furtive glances back towards the homestead...Back to the burn-pile, back to the house...

I kicked the dirt of the fire break angrily cursing the wind under my breath and thrust my hands into the pockets of my jeans in frustration...And felt something in there. Yep, the box of matches. You see, this year I was given permission to light the fire by my grandfather. It was an honour I took very seriously as the fire-loving little bugger I was. I had had those matches in my pocket all morning in anticipation of the ceremonial lighting and feeling them in my hand right then...Ideas began to spark.

No judgement please, but after a few more furtive glances back to the house and a thorough inspection of the pile, the fire-break and the wind me, in all my 9-year-old wisdom, deemed it safe to light the fire. Yes, I know right? I wish I could take it back...But 40 years later I'm an adult and have the ability to think things through, at the time I was a kid who needed fire!

Like an idiot I lit the fire. I did everything right, just as I was told earlier by grandad although, like an idiot, I lit the fire at the leeward end of the pile, the down-wind end. The fire caught, flames hungrily eating into the pile. The problem's started though when the wind picked up a piece of flaming cardboard and cast it cruelly into the grasses of the paddock downwind. Oh such cruel fate. Good fortune why did you forsake me!

I made an attempt to extinguish the flames that must have looked quite comical at the time but it was too late, they took hold quickly and went racing off encouraged by the wind. As if to punctuate my miserable position the wind picked up...Oh what fresh hell is this I probably thought. Or maybe I was just shitting my pants knowing I was going to get a bollocking for this.

I raced off to the house shouting FIRE FIRE FIRE, knowing that the situation was dire, and rallied my family who, after some initial shock about what I was saying, raced to attend the rapidly expanding fire. I think I received a clip around the ears as they ran past me...Yep, I deserved that.

This was in the mid-morning and by late afternoon the fire was out. Of the nearly 2 acre paddock (8,000 sqm) about half was burned out...And the bloody burn-pile was still intact. Just my luck huh? Oh fate, thou art a cruel friend.

My punishment for that event involved a smacking. A well deserved one. It also involved me having to apologise formally to my family and the neighbours who could have lost their homes through my idiotic act. Lesson learned? Hmm, most definitely probably.

Events that occur in our lives all teach us valuable lessons and that day I learned many that would stick with me for life. Do I regret my actions? Of course! I could have been responsible for people losing their homes, including my own family. I could also have been killed. Did I ever do stupid things again? Of course, that too. But I learned from that day, like I have all through my life with other events and occurrences, That's part of life isn't it? Learning from mistakes, from success, failure, good and bad times?

I don't go about lighting random fires these days. I have more restraint. I still love me a good fire though. In fact as you read this I'm probably sitting around a fire at Spear Creek with my mates talking shit at that shooting event I wrote about a couple days ago.

So, there's a little true story from my youth for you, a story with a moral...Don't be an idiot like I was, and don't play with fire...When the wind is blowing the wrong way.

One day you should remind me to tell you about the great jerry can fire of 1981...It's a good story, again starring none other than me, the 11 year old version, with a cameo appearance by my oldest brother who almost ended up burned to a crisp. Ah, good times, good times.

Yeah, so maybe I didn't learn all the appropriate lessons back in 1979! Boys will be boys though right? (I'm surprised i survived my childhood to be honest, but fortunately for you all, I did!)


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

P.s. If I don't respond immediately it's because I'm sitting around the campfire at Spear Creek and probably don't have great phone service. I'll get back at you if you leave a comment though.

Sort:  

Lol a great read thanks and now looking forward very much to the great Jerry can 🔥. I am still amazed I made it to 21 years of age let alone more than double the age now😂

Posted using Partiko Android

😂 Boys will be boys. I'll roll out the jerry can fire story someday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes we will boys lol. Awesome looking forward to that story.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great story. Any historical event known as "the incident" had to be memorable! Well told!
K

Haha, yes, incident always has that sort of connotation right? Ah, good times, good times. 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep. I've had a few "it seemed like a good idea at the time" moments in my life.

Yes, that's a way to describe my idiocy for sure! ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

I am "Burned Out."

From 1996 till 2008-9. Fires were not just for enjoyment around here. They were Mandatory. Clearing this 12 acres by myself, when home the 60-80 days of the year I get. Half of wich are spent on truck maint. & repairs, The Burn Became a Neverending task.

And then there was the loss, from back 2 back hurricanes, of our Swiss Family Briggs Tree, a 300+ yr. old Southern Live Oak. That took 2+ yrs. to clean up from. Well the Burn Out is well earned......

We still have to burn from time 2 time with the growth and property maint. Debris like your childhood burn pile collected.

But I really enjoy our fireplace indoors more these days.

Nothing like a good old fire!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 235 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

You got a 10.89% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

This story was good for a laugh! It brings to mind a similar, if less disastrous one, from my own more recent past. Before we moved out to the country, we used to come visit my husband's grandparents' farm. Nobody lives there now, the grandparents being gone, but the family still stays there when they come to visit. It's on the shore of the Columbia River in Oregon. There was a huge burn pile on the sand just waiting to be set on fire, and we added some old furniture we were wanting to get rid of, and lit the whole thing up. It was an epic fire, until someone called the fire department and they showed up with the water cannon and put it out. We didn't know at the time, but you aren't allowed to burn gigantic piles of brush in August, which is fire season. My son was hugely disappointed and very angry at the firefighters for putting out his majestic beacon to space. I managed to sweet talk my way out of a ticket by explaining that we were city people and didn't know any better. The kicker was the following day when the fire chief showed up to make sure the fire was good and dead and got his truck stuck in the sand. We've been living out here near that farm for more than ten years now and would never do something that dumb, but my husband's elderly aunt still calls him "Pyro" to this day.

Sorry for the longwinded comment, but your post brought back the memory!

Pyro is a legit name! 😂

Yeah, loads of city-slickers do stuff like that simply out of having no idea. Still, no harm came from it and it certainly put y'all on the map with the locals I'm sure!

No worries on the long reply either, always happy to engage with people. Thanks for the follow.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83