The Beautiful Bride Part #3 [A Nigerian Story]

in #writing5 years ago

A True Nigerian Folkore told by my grandmother. Well most of the story has been modified by me and a lot of things has been added also to make it more enjoyable.
I've always wanted to write about this.

Read Part 1 here
Read Part 2 here

Part 3

Abari and Dura had no child after Omide but they took great care of her and gave her whatever she needed. They taught her the family accepted,values of honesty, respect for elders, modesty, kindness and perseverance. By the time Omide was eighteens her father fell ill. In spite of the fact that he was given good medical attention, he died after a while. Dura and Omide were sad.

Omide took life in its stride. Her mother often talked to her about marriage. 'My daughter you grow up day by day. Think of settling down. In our own days, young girls were betrothed to men but now you can decide on what you want, said Dura.

'I will take my time mother, one should not rush into marriage. It is a life time project. One should be very careful. Whatever I intend to do, I will keep you informed,' said Omide.

For over one year, Omide did not tell her mother her plans about marriage. Worse still, the mother became ill Soon after, she died. Her mother's only sister, Ajini, was with them throughout the period of her illness. Omide became very sad. A week after the death of her mother, she spoke to Ajini, her aunt and guardian.

'Life is not worth it. I have lost the closest persons to me in the world. I may not marry. The attraction is not there for me again,' said Omide.

'Haa Omide, why do you say such a thing? Everybody has his or her own life to live. We don't come to the world on the same day. And we won't depart this sinful world on the same day. Please, see life as it is. It is a stage, play your own part very well and let posterity judge you. I will give you all the support your father and mother could give if they were to be alive,' said Ajini. 'Thank you auntie,' Omide sadly.

Omide decided to leave her family home and stay with her aunt.

'Auntie, I will stay with you until I am married. I am scared stiff of our house. The ghosts of my father and mother will haunt me ifI return there now,' said Omide.

'My house here is yours. My daughter, Abeni, is very close to you. I am happy you have a strong link. When all of us old people are gone, you will continue to be on the stage. Be very free here and tell me anything you need from me,' said Ajini.

'Thank you very much. You have been a pillar of strength to me, people like you are very rare. I have been mollified by your comments,' concluded Omide.

Omide packed her personal belongings and moved to her aunt's house. She became closer to Abeni who was three years younger than her. She told her her secrets, joys and sorrows. Abeni was equally attached to Omide. They were like twin sisters even though Omide was a little bit taller. People in the neighbourhood spoke about the great 'sisters'. While people described Abeni as beautiful, they said Omide was the uncrowned beauty queen of Iniga, a fairy lady who could make multitude to do her wish. They described her in the most superlative language. A woman full of charm, the quintessence of womanhood.


beauty-785973_1280.jpg
Source

Many of the men who showed interest in Omide knew that she had moved to her aunt's residence. All sorts of men crowd around her whenever she attended civic or festive occasions. She was usually polite, modest, respect and full of wisdom.

Feelers from the palace showed that the king of Iniga was interested in this beauty queen. The old man had already taken a wife from the extended family and, hence he could not force himself on her. He could not ask her to join the 'harem' in the palace. He was interested in whoever won the heart of the lady. The witty king kept his fingers crossed and took the slightest interest in things that concerned Omide.

Omide spent over four years in her aunt's house before she finally made her choice. People from Iniga did not want her to marry outside the place. A lot of suitors from the neighbouring towns and villages visited her and tried to wirn her heart. But she was skeptical about the sincerity of the young men who called on her and professed that they loved her. She did not want to fall into the wrong hand. She wanted a successful marriage, blessed with children she could shower her love on. Her father and mother who did not live to see her married to the man of her choice could come back as her children after all.

She had learnt also from elders that most of the things in this world depended on good luck. She had heard stories of beautiful women whose marriages were unsuccessful and less beautiful women who had successful marriages. She prayed earnestly that God would guide her to make the right choice and have a successful marriage.


...to be continued


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
The 13 Villages of Kibera

The 13 Villages of Kibera (25.10.2018) >>Kibera need...

logo

This posting was written via
dclick the Ads platform based on Steem Blockchain.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 147 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Nice story indeed, I love reading it. Thanks very much!

Thank you
I'm glad you like it

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Now I'm intrigued – I'll have to go back and read the first two parts, when I find a moment!

hyampom-54.jpg

Thank you for stopping by @zipporah, I'm sure you'll love it

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86