The Beautiful Bride Part #4 [A Nigerian Story]

in #writing5 years ago

A True Nigerian Folkore told by my grandmother. Well most of the story has been modified by me and a lot of things has been added also to make it more enjoyable.
I've always wanted to write about this.

Read Part 1 here
Read Part 2 here
Read Part 3 here

Part 4

Omide was very close to Abeni. She knew that, at her a she should give attention to the issue of marriage. The death of her parents made her extra careful. She called Abeni one day to bare her mind.


beauty-785973_1280.jpg
Source

'Abeni, I am thinking seriously of making a choice from the multitude of men who come here.'

'Go ahead, you have my support,' said Abeni.

'But I am in a dilemma. All the men say fantastic things about me and how they love me. They cannot all be that sincere.'

'Yes you are right. Most of them may not be sincere. You have to identify the most sincere and loving among them. I know this is not easy.'

How do I do this?' Omide wondered.

'Hmmm. That is a million naira question,' replied Abeni.

'Honestly I don't know! My sister, I have to think about this. When I get an Lidea, I will let you know.'

'O.k. If I have any brilliant idea I will tell you too'
Their discussion ended and Omide thought on the issue for some time. She did not discuss it with her aunt. She wanted to articulate some ideas before discussing with her.

Exactly two weeks after her discussion with her niece Abeni, she called her again. 'Now I have an idea, it looks good but that is how I feel.'
'Please tell me my sister. I am eager to know:
The idea looks bizarre but I know it will work.'
Tell me, I am all ears.'

'Well, the idea is this. I want to celebrate my birthday low key.'
How?' asked Abeni.

'I would invite just a few of the suitors and tell them about it. If they like they present gifts but they will not be allowed to grace the birthday party.'

'Why?'

'I like privacy. I don't want them to come and create scenes. In such a situation, you may not be able to control men.'

'Yes you are right. Some men can be very jealous. If you are closer to one than the other, there could be some problems. Even though, people say women are jealous, men are worse.'

'Yes, they could bring gifts if they like and you will keep these gifts in a very safe place. After the birthday party, I will visit my friend in Igalani and others in the area.'

'A week after I had travelled, you would tell them that I had been kidnapped. After a while also, you would tell them that I had been drowned in a river and buried in the river bank according to the tradition of the people. The reaction of the men would reveal those who really love me. I will return after the signal has been received from you. The reaction of the men to the news of my death me. would be noted,' concluded Omide.

'Do you think you can keep out of public eye and people won't know what is happening?' asked Abeni.

'Yes, I can, I am determined to carry this through. Just play your role creditably,' Omide replied.

Omide met her aunt early in the morning of the following day and told her the plans.

'Do you think this can work, Omide?'

'I believe it can work. We only need secrecy. Only Abeni and yourself are in the picture. No other person is involved,' explained Omide.

'I will give you all the support you need. I want you to settle down in marriage and bring up your children very well. I pray you meet the right man who will appreciate your worth and make you happy,' concluded Ajini.

'Thank you very much. I know I can depend on you at all times,' said Omide.

Omide made plans for her birthday party. It was to be a low key one. Only few friends and relations would be invited and it would be held in their living room. No male friend was to be present.


...to be continued


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
Top 5 Sassy Suggestions for Halloween Movie Night

Halloween Night is almost here are You ready for a S...

logo

This posting was written via
dclick the Ads platform based on Steem Blockchain.

Sort:  

Never knew you were a writer @gamsam.. U r doing well.. Got some show for u

Thank you @bhoa

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Hi @gamsam!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.420 which ranks you at #6823 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 13 places in the last three days (old rank 6810).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #228.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @gamsam! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
You made more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 21000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gamsam from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75