A Sweet Face to Go With All That Sugar Cane

in #writing5 years ago

I had just emptied the urine out of the potty chair onto the sandy parking lot. Nobody noticed. It soaked in pretty quickly, leaving an inconspicuous little puddle. I’ve got that sweet sort of look about my face that everyone always thinks nice things about. Someone could have seen me with potty chair in hand and thought, “How nice, she’s watering the plants.”

A few years ago I smuggled tulip bulbs in from Amsterdam. Silly me, not paying any attention to the rules until the flight attendant made some announcement. My suitcase set off the alarm at the Atlanta airport, and the guard asked me if I had something I shouldn’t. I told him no. He looked at my face for an instant before letting me pass. It’s just that sort of a face.

IMG_20181103_214508.jpg

Sweet palms, palms, and more palms. I love palms.

Since the potty was empty, we went tromping through the woods. I pointed out the black scars where a forest fire had lapped at the papery bark of the pine trees. The boy took a sample of black bark home, shoving it in my purse. Young palmettos were sprouting up everywhere, reincarnated from their roots. Palmettos burn like paper.

The wind was heavy, swaying the branches high above us, against that blue, blue, blue sky. So gorgeously blue. The blue is one of my favorite things about winter—most days are crispy cool with that sparkling blue.

IMG_20181103_214004.jpg

The sort of blue you can fall into.

It is interesting to me how humans naturally look to cultivate nature without even trying. A moss covered log looks like a carpeted bench; a grape vine is a handy climbing rope; wide oak branches are the potential for a second-story living room; a fat stump is a convenient step stool.

We reached the end of the trail, where the ruins loomed. The tot took one look at the crumbling rock walls and chimneys, and instead decided that the moss covered stones at its boarder were much more important. They called to her, asking her to walk them, so we did. People in a camper nearby nodded at me, smiles spread across their faces—because I’ve got that kind of face.

Once the moss covered stones knew our footsteps, we walked through the ruins after all. The boy read me every sign explaining the process of extracting sugar cane. The crumbling chimney of the sugar cane factory stood before us, the sweet molasses aroma having faded away two hundred years ago when the Seminoles burned it. Have you tasted pure sugar cane?

IMG_20181103_213810.jpg

See where I got the inspiration for my dream? These nightmare creatures are everywhere...

I have. Fast forward about two hours. A long metal arm of a press was spinning over our heads, as the hard stalk of sugar cane was smashed beneath it. The thin, beige liquid came trickling out the side, into a vat. A man stepped forward, offering me a cup, because I’ve got that kind of face—I look like such a nice person. My husband said he got cavities from sucking on a piece of sugar cane too much as a kid growing up in Brazil. To us natural born Americans, with tongues indoctrinated by hefty doses of sugar from infancy, it didn’t taste as sweet to me as the Halloween candy sitting in the dining room.

We moved on. I sat on a rusty folding chair in the back of a barn that was as I old as I am. Older, antique pulleys and a display of antiquated styles of barbed wire hung to my right. The children skittered around, playing their own variety of musical chairs to the bluegrass music played toward the front of the barn. Sunlight played off the children, flickering in the moving branches of the oak trees. The older man in the baseball cap with the harmonica smiled at me—I’m just that sort of person.

IMG_20181103_213529.jpg

A boy in the sunlight with his stick.

Society’s expectations have a way of creating reality. The nicer people think I am, the nicer I become.

I need to figure out how to build a big spinning arm press to turn the patch of cane I’ve got out by the garden into sugar. Maybe I will work on the bowl of Halloween candy first.

Sort:  

A sweet smile on a sweet face always gets the candy @ginnyannette. I for one am guilty of this. Did you plant the tulips? Did they grow?

I gave them to my little niece, and I think one of them did sprout, but I'm not sure it came of anything. I'm sure my sister didn't go to the trouble of digging it up and throwing it in the freezer for the following year :)

It looks like it must be a pleasure to get to know you :) I also have this kind of innocent and friendly face. But for me it's also the fact that I'm quite petite so people tend to think that I'm fragile and need protection :D

I do use my sweet innocent smile whenever I need it :D For example, when I'm at the border and they ask him if I have anything in the trunk of my car. I say no and give them one of my sweetest smile.. of course my trunk is full of things that I bought and should declare :D And there are more examples like this.

Cheers to nice people with sweet faces ;)

Another great post! It's always such a pleasure to read your stories. I like your humor :)

Being petite does seem to aid in the sweet face abilities. We petite people look a bit childlike I think.

We should get together and smuggle things and take over the world, with our powers combined no one will ever suspect a thing!

Thanks for coming by and the kind compliments.

We get the same signs here in the croc-prone areas...

Nice post G!

There is a sign in my home town near the university that says something like "this is not a petting zoo, alligators are dangerous." Those college kids are stupid, or maybe just drunk. I wonder if they read the sign when drunk...

Thanks for coming by :)

I doubt a crocodile or alligator would discriminate between a drunk student or a sober one. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm sure they are both equally appealing, but the drunk one likely will be emitting the aroma of beer. Depending on the alligator's tastes, this could be a positive or a negative. I try not to think about those beastly reptiles, so I can't decide which one it would be ;)

They're an awe-inspiring beast for sure. Not to be messed with. I wrote a poem about an American tourist to the Top End if Australia on Steemit a while ago. A funny one. Was a bit of a laugh.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh no, the American tourist - that can't be a poem complimentary to my kind :D

Well...It wasn't all THAT bad 😀😜

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! I'll look into it :)

Hi ginnyannette,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Yay! Thank you!

How its going the 1,600 words a day thing?

Excellent! Flying through it! I'm not editing or making a strong effort to write well, so it's fun.

My wife is the nicest person ever but she has a resting bitch face and people tell her she doesn’t look approachable 😂😂.

It is interesting how much is not in our control that sets up society's expectations. I try to put on a resting bitch face sometimes, not sure if it works.

I also look sweet. I know the face. :), but I thought I looked sweet because I am. LOL !

Enjoyed the story of your little journey.

Ha! Some of us with that face are sweet...and some of us are just sweet most of the time ;)

"Have you tasted pure sugar cane?"

Yes I have. Not when I was in the states, but here is SE Asia they sell the cane and the juice on the street. I agree with you that it is not as sweet as you would expect.

This is a lovely story and great photos. Thanks for the nice break in my day :)

I liked how it wasn't exactly sickly sweet. Maybe it is the molasses taste still in there before being filtered out that helps to dull the sweetness.

Thanks for stopping by.

I am a big molasses fan and prefer it to plain sugar now. I think you are right about that taste from the pure cane. People who only eat the processed sugar are missing out. I will be getting a cup of it next time I see it now :)

lol, just that kind of face....
It's a pretty cool process making sugar from sugarcane. We have sorghum cane here, they even have a sorghum festival in the next town over. It's a pretty interesting process making the syrup, it's just basically the raw sap cooked over a long flat pan until it caramelizes. Basically just pure sugar, but it's great on biscuits.

It is interesting. And even more so in a 200 year old context.

I forgot about sorghum, I suppose that's the cool weather version of sugar. And then there are sugar beets - us humans know how to keep things sweet :)

Thanks for stopping by.

haha! so if people didn't think you were nice you'd be some kind of witch? lol. wonderful writing as always!

Nah, but I'd probably be less friendly. Who knows. We certainly seem to learn from our experiences rapidly.

yeah, you'd probably make the Grinch look like a sweetheart! lol.

I always thought the Grinch was kind of a nice guy. I mean, look at that cute dog he's got. And he sews himself a santa suit - that's impressive.

haha! I see some similarities already, you have a cute dog and you can sew a Santa suit!

You know, I was kind of dreading dragging out the Christmas tree this year. I wonder where this Grinch fellow lives, and if he needs any help...

haha! that's so funny. Yeah when you have kids Christmas is so dang much work and money! Run off with the Grinch.. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83