The Rat Parade

in #writing5 years ago

There I was, sitting in the children’s room, reading a pretty little children’s story in the dim glow of a sleepy lamp. That’s when I heard it. There was a quiet rustle, distinctly made by little feet and maybe a long sinister tail, leaving behind a body oil stain on the attic floor. The little bastards were directly above me.

IMG_20181201_223332.jpg

I told my husband this on his way home from a twelve hour shift. That’s a surefire way to sour a mood. We thought we were through with the rodent freeloaders. If they were human, one eviction would have sufficed.

I’d seen many cartoons as a child where a silly woman screams upon seeing a mouse. How ridiculous, I thought. A rat, however, is an entirely different matter. I saw one skitter across my porch after dark the other night. I became that cartoon woman that screams. It wasn’t my fault—humans have had good reason to find the beasts vile for thousands of years. Fear is embedded in my genes. I scream every time I see a rat snake unexpectedly too, but thank god for them.

Anyway, so the vile thing skittered across the porch, dragging along its snaky tail, only it was creepier than a snake because the tail was attached to the furry rest of him. So very unnatural. A tail ought to be hairy—rats are like pieces of two different animals shoved together. The beast was the size of my foot, and in that moment I don’t know for sure which one of us was more scared, but I think I was on the losing end. Given that he was the size of my foot, I feared me might try to duel my bare foot, and my feet and I ran away.

Life is just so full of irony. While I loathe the vile creatures nesting in the attic, I am enamored with my little rodent friend that lives happily in his cage. In actuality Hamie the Hamster belongs to my son, but I’m the one that checks on his little whisker twitching nose every morning. I have this fear of the day that I find his whiskers not twitching. I intend to replace him immediately and pretend that nothing happened. I love that little wheel running, velvet furred, nose twitching guy. Those black orb eyes look at me with animalistic wisdom. But those creatures in the attic—they know too much. They know our ways. They might have been listening to me read that children’s book through the ceiling…

IMG_20181201_232217.jpg

So I took the kids to the Christmas parade today. There were lots of little kids dressed up in their dance costumes, and teenagers twirling batons in the air, and large trucks pulling floats covered over with Christmas trees and lights and shiny stuff. It was a huge human event. Meanwhile, back at the attic, the grey rat with the humanistic wisdom in its eye spoke up, loud and clear.

Wake up, brethren! Now is not the time to be sleeping! I watched those humans leave. I checked the calendar—they will be gone 2.5 hours. Let the rat parade begin!
Cheering from all corners of the attic.
First, we will collect the deer corn from the neighbor’s yard—those fools. Then we will find the fallen palm fruit, overripe and squished, and we will feast! Lastly, and most importantly, we return here, find something that looks important to the humans—and we destroy it!

Beastly things. My sweet little Hamie would never do such a thing. I’m sure of it.

Sort:  

I would NOT want them living in my attic! But my daughter has pet rats and they are so smart and fascinating to watch! She interacts with them continuously and they learn so quickly! but I agree...those tails!

Their intelligence is really interesting...and really creepy when they are wild. I have mixed emotions. Thinking about them in my attic they are villains, but then I think about how they are just animals, like a squirrel - which is cute; or a raccoon - beautiful. And then I remember they are rats. shiver :)

I live in the woods on the river and raccoons are my nemesis! They show up at night in packs and they can do so much damage in a very short time. They come up onto my deck and knock things over and break flower pots. I go out in the morning to dirt spilled all over and plants everywhere. When they manage to get up on the roof they sound like a herd of elephants, and will wake me up out of a sound sleep. I have tried every trick in the book to keep them out of the bird feeder but they always find a way, it wouldn't be so bad if they would just eat the dumb bird seed, but they always have to destroy something in the process.

Interesting. I live with woods around me partially, but I rarely see them. Those guys have a unique ability to be eerie too. Something about that hunched over way they walk. I am probably even more scared of them in person than rats :)

I have Chipmunks all over the place. My daughter has hand fed them for so long that many of them are far to tame to the point that you have to actually watch where you're walking so you don't step on one. She adores them as much as she does her rats, and has names for many of them and can tell them apart. When she comes to my house I swear they recognize the sound of her car and come running!

My favorite stuffed animals were Chip and Dale when I was a child. I like your daughter already, I want to be introduced to her chipmunks :) We don't have them here.

I'm always surprised by what animals can learn. I don't put anything passed them now. Our chicken coop is iron clad. I assume the raccoons and the likes have my very basic intelligence, minus all the fluffy unnecessary thoughts that bog me down. That is either a compliment to them, or an insult to myself...

🤣🤣 My grandkids all love to come over and sit on the back steps with their aunt Alli so that they can pet her Chipmunks. Really, they are just rats with furry tails! She would be delighted to introduce all her critters to you!

That furry tail makes all the difference - rats are cuddly and cute with furry tails :D

Hey @ginnyannette, I never thought I would scream at little creatures of mice and rats, I didn't once upon a time. But, now OMG I could be on a chair in a flash, haha.

It is the element of surprise too. And when they are trying to run away, they always seem to run at you! Human and rodent panic at the same moment :)

I used to have a beautiful pet rat called Nimue. Loved her.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have a friend with two very well fed white rats. Pet rats have a totally different air to them. Still don't like their tails.

yeah most people HATE the tails!! I wonder if it's a thing built into us to protect us from diseased rats, or if they remind us of snakes. They are wierdly coarse as well. I don't mind them. Rats are just cute all around, it's not their fault they are how they are.

Ahahahahah!

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I may have seen one in my life. That naked tail creeps me out!

I am glad to give the removal job over to my brave husband. Those things are scary.

howdy ginnyannette! the only good rat is a dead rat. No mixed emotions here, those nasty things suck. lol. What do you do, put traps up there?

My husband is putting in a one-way door where he thinks they are getting in, and setting up traps inside. Hopefully there are no little babies up there.

howdy tonight ginnyannette! wow that sounds creepy as anything but you gotta get it done. they suck. Did you say that the palm tree seeds or something attract them?

Yeah they eat the fruit, but they would probably come without it too. We have woods around the house that is supporting a healthy population. I see quite a lot of rat snakes too, but I guess we need more. We've just got to get the attic sealed up really tight, and/or release 500 rat snakes into the wild. That seems like it might upset some sort of natural balance though :)

wow that whole scenario gives me the creeps! lol. Two things that give me the creeps is rats and snakes! I don't mind spiders or even scorpions but those two...no.. just not right. lol. I guess if you grow up with them around then you're used to them.

I agree with you about rats! We have instinctive reasons for disliking rats, and those are embedded in our genes... the same thing goes for bugs. Why do we automatically need to kill them when found in our homes? Sometimes I feel bad about killing another living creature so callously, but then I think they should not have gotten started pestering us 5 million years ago! U+R :)

I can't lie, I feel sorry for everything. I catch and release every bug I can, but even so they still must get out of my house. Instinct.

Thanks for stopping by and the resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87