My Raven. Writing challenge day 321 with @mydivathings

in #writing5 years ago

Visual writing prompt from @mydivathings.

This is my first attempt using the daily image prompt from the 365 days of writing.

I am a day or 2 late with this particular prompt.

I have a thing about ravens, they are incredibly special to me, which isn't particularly unusual, except for the fact that I am very ornithophobic.

I would like to continue the theme using future prompts. I am greatly encouraged to do so from reading the works by the November NaNoWriMo free writers. I have enjoyed @felt.buzz's use of these visual prompts in combination with the free write prompts to create the beginning of an amazing story. https://steemit.com/freewritemadness/@felt.buzz/the-many-torments-of-tiny-earl-chapter-five-a-freewritemadness-nanowrimo-story-f7c03tun

I'm also hooked on the relay writing of @blockurator and his writing team.
They are writing / running their second lap at the moment. Each writing a chapter, then passing the baton on to the next writer.
https://steemit.com/fiction/@blockurator/exquisite-corpse-2-get-off-my-farm-punk-a72c9a1a217a2est

I'm a little out of practice. I could list my reasons excuses, blah blah, but I just really want to put it all aside and find a few minutes a day to write something.

Thanks steemers for always providing the inspiration.


My Raven.

7b4bio5hobgskW8qdPdvSqcwwJTvbiCMpGmRey1Rtd8H5rfcsBGpVZiNZVgA8ZxBxcjg2kQJh2pFgHvejbT617xi8zW32rVhbzkkMZtJFFX8EHBW1RPsXUyGxMtq9w83GoBVQVuEPkZAsCoJuAPKP5ovZ4qC.jpeg

I was falling, I could feel the drag on my soul as each day turned night.

Not falling in the regular sense, not simply tripping over, but falling away from this world. Much like Alice down the rabbit hole, but without the visual aids she had to associate with her downward trajectory.

Alice found her style of falling curious, but the reference surely gave her an inkling of reality. Besides it being a slowed and protracted plummet with an array of unusual imagery, she was travelling in the regular fashion, generally speaking, or at least in the expected direction, with every expectation that eventually she would complete the process.

The mode in which I was falling on the other hand, although I sensed it in the pit of my viscera, could have been missed all together.

Many do misinterpret the process for some worldly burden, baggage claimed and carried for a time with little consideration for that which weighs them down.

Perhaps I too would have fallen in this fashion for a time, unaware of the true nature of things, had he not caught me.

My raven.

Though it was not the falling that alerted me nor was it the landing, it was in the catch.

Amid the free fall that presented as daily routine, I was plucked mid air. Sluggishly wafting, a heavy hung cloud through another thick stormy day, weighed down by the humidity, life stuck to my soul like soup, my raven dove through the nimbus and caught me.

In free fall we tangoed, entangled.

In the falling I learnt to again stand,
In darkest of nights was clarity found,
In flight as we soared I learnt I could walk,
It was in his grasp released from all bounds,

My own Quetzalcoatl falling from sky,
Enamoured for reasons that still perplex,
Power relinquished mine own fortify,
Redirect destiny within reflex,

Exquisite a rescue solitary hawk,
Asserting my corpse was worth which to dive,
Gave of his wings to enable my walk,
Landing and earthbound together we strive.

#365daysofwriting


IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

Oh this was lovely. Thank you for joining in!

This is awesome. Thanks for the shout out.

There is plenty to admire about this. I love the way you effortlessly transition from prose to poetry. It's hardly even noticeable except for the line breaks, and that's what clued me in. I've been rolling this notion around in my head for a while, a poem that begins as prose transitions to verse then ends in prose again. I'd have written it by now, but I haven't decided upon a theme. You've beaten me to it (and likely aren't the first to have done this, but the first I've seen it--that I recall).

Anyway, I'd love to have you participate in our next #exquisite-corpse exercise. If you have the time, you might join in our current #farmpunk fiction contest. You'd be a welcome addition to either of these writing exercises.

And one more invite - join us in the Speculative Fiction Writers of Steemit Discord community. We're small but growing.

Loading...

@blockurator,

I told you so, didn't I? Block, Marg has chops. She's viciously creative and can write anything you throw at her, poetry or prose ... or both. She has a natural intuition for the psychological, sociological and the philosophical. And, she has an ability to employ humor in a manner that is both subtle and sublime.

You need to FORCE her to participate in your challenges. I'll help.

Quill

I don't force anyone. It's against my morals. I'm very good at seducing, however.

The much deserved praise for her work which I was about to accord her, was partly put forth here. Nice

It's been a bit tough tyge to be honest, but we are trying to put into place some changes to adapt and stop fighting against things I can't change (including some wheels like yours I think), and I wasn't going to say it yet, because these things have a way of falling through, but I think we will be relocated before Christmas, which would be a dream come true... I think this will be a fruitful reframe.
I feel the goddesses are guiding us to a more positive space.
Room for a fur baby...

<3 Well I hope your new home is everything you wish it to be <3 It's been a screwed up year time for some good things <3

@girlbeforemirror,

Beautiful. I was captivated by your prose, wondering where you were going, and then ... the poetry. Beautifully executed. And, of course, the theme ...

I don't ReSteem many posts ... but this one, without question, deserves it.

Marg, everything about you impresses me. You are, without doubt, one of the most interesting, and talented, people on the blockchain.

Is it, perhaps, time for a long-delayed poetry challenge? I will promote the Hell out of it and FORCE everyone I know to participate. As you know, coercion is part of my personality. :-) What do you think?

Quill

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @girlbeforemirror! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02