Dangerous childhood memories

in #writing6 years ago

When we were kids, we had a dream to become something when we grow up. Like most, even I had a dream of becoming a doctor. Lol, I know right? Out of all the dreams, had to be Doctor.

Kids-Doctor-Costumes.jpg
Source

I had no idea what doctors do, but always used to see my neighbour's (girl) record books filled with drawings of lizards, frogs, cockroach etc. One day I decided to ask her what are these drawings for, and she answered saying that once she studies all this she will become a Doctor. Interesting now, isn't it?? As a kid I thought, "Wow, So if I want to become a Doctor all I need to do is find these animals and learn about them".

Well, Lizards were the easiest to find. So every day after returning from school I used to hunt for lizards, capture them, and most of the time even before I could kill it, the lizard would shed it's tail and escape. I used to still collect those tails in a jar bottle. But whenever I got lucky and killed a lizard, I would hammer it to a plank, would wear a white t-shirt of my brother and start cutting them open using a blade. Somehow would never find it gross doing all that. What a brat I was when I was a kid.

But that's not all. One day was finally lucky enough to get hold of a big frog. Well, most of us know it ain't easy to catch a frog. But I managed to catch one, used the broom to kill it and then began operating on it. Just that while cutting the frog open I realised that it was still alive. I immediately rushed to the house and picked up a needle and thread and tried to stitch it back and after doing so I just threw it in the beach.

I had a lot of guilt but I would still continue doing my experiments with lizards as I was confident that I wanted to become a doctor and this was the only way.

But every story does have an ending. Mine was when my sister found the jar of lizard tails! Yeah, I used to still collect the tails and keep it under the bed in a jar.

When my sister informed by parents about my weird obsession, they decided to stop me. Knowing how stubborn I was, they created a story in front of me that if we kill animals, they would one day kill us. Like all the other kids I knew it was just to scare me, until, one night it started pouring heavily and all the frogs started croaking and my sister told me that they have come for me. I couldn't sleep for few nights and decided to stop my obsession of becoming a doctor and killing frogs and lizards.

It's good to follow your dreams and try and achieve them, But, never do it at the cost of others.

Sort:  

Resteem bot Service! Promote Your New Post.Find New Followers - Upvotes. Send 0.400 SBD to @stoneboy and your post url in memo and we will resteem your post to 9500+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75