A Little Daily Miracle.

in #writing6 years ago

After work I hobbled my butt over to the grocery store a few parking lots away. Picked out some Unicorn cupcakes for Sparrow's class to celebrate her birthday, they're so cute and she was SO excited!

On the way to the bus stop from the store... This happened.

0605181526_Burst01.jpg

I thought it was dead, flopped over and not moving. But it was huge, and gorgeous, so I stopped to take a picture so I could ask others what kind of moth it was.

Then I thought "I can't just leave this baby's body here, I'll set it somewhere nice and out of the way so it doesn't get trampled."

I picked it up, and it moved, just ever so slightly! Ermagerd it's alive!

0605181529.jpg

It's just laying there in my hand, barely moving, but moving indeed. So I take it along with me to the bus stop. There is a department store near the stop with plants outside for sale, so I'm plotting bringing the beauty over there.

But there's no time, the bus is already here!

I couldn't just leave it on the rocks. I couldn't.

So I smuggled it on the bus with me.

0605181531.jpg

Notice that it's got a good little grip on me at this point! This sweet little bug, I was freaking out. I can't bring it home! Albus will eat it!

Screenshot_2018-06-05-20-34-44.png

After a long while of just sitting there, the moth slowly starts opening and closing it's wings.

Screenshot_2018-06-05-20-35-02.png

Was it just stunned and needed time to recover? Was it too cold and needed to warm up thanks to the 54° day IN FREAKING JUNE?!

Whatever it's problem was, it was being resolved right in front of my eyes.

Screenshot_2018-06-05-20-35-13.png

Halfway down the hill I was needing to cup my hand over it to stop it from trying to fly in the bus! 20 minutes before it could barely move and now it wanted to go!

So the next time someone signaled to stop, I stood and went to the door, holding my hand out. It stayed. But went back to fluttering when I sat down!

So I repeated myself, going back to the door a second time. And that beautiful creature flew off, free and feeling so much better!

It feels so good to have been able to help that beautiful little moth. Totally made my day. 💜

Stop and smell the Lilacs and save the giant moths you guys. The reward will stamp itself on your heart.

Sort:  

Very kool. Great pics for sure. Butterfly is amazing

What a gorgeous moth. I get creatures inside my house all the time, the most recent being a scorpion. He was gorgeous too, but intimidating.

I think I would probably completely spaz over a scorpion! 😱

How did you get it out???

I spazzed at first too. I thought it was dead initially, but I think it was just dehydrated. I did the old put-a-cup-over-it trick, and then stared at it for a long time, gave it a drop of water, and released it in the woods across from my house. Cool seeing it, hope to never see it again :)

Would have been pretty awkward to go to the door at every bus stop if it wouldn't have flown away on the second go :-)

Just the first time was embarassing enough! Lol!

this is an adventure unintentionally done by people's habits, you resonate it so maximally. an honor for you he said that we can not hear is my big prince thanks.
Good luck.

I'm SO glad it found you and not me. I am so phobic of moths (and most bugs). I don't want to hurt them, I just don't want them near me or in my apartment. 😂 So I'm glad it found a human who wasn't afraid. I'm getting better - but moths are still one of the worst fears for me.
There are some outside my balcony this year though - usually we just get yellow butterflies in the trees there, but this year there are giant moths, too. As long as they stay outside. 😅
It's all changing up this year - I had a real ladybug I took outside (usually we just get those beetles that look like ladybugs but orange). Mourning doves on my balcony a few times (haven't seen them around here before). Still have paper wasps, but haven't seen any bees! Maybe once I've got a bloom on my balcony I'll see one.

You have a great heart @hickorymack that you did not let it die over there on rock. You could ignore its presence but you took it with you and waited to cure. In this moment when it flew away then heart dance with joy :)

That is beautiful.

Awww yes...what a beautiful story and the photos are amazing too. <3 <3 <3 You are a real human angel Hickory <3 <3 <3 Love you SiSTAR!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17