Charles Wallace, Imposter Alert!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Good morning! I wanted to share with you the birdie drama that unfolded yesterday!

The first bird to show up was this guy or gal.

0605180814b.jpg

Several things immediately define this bird as an imposter Charles Wallace. First, Charles is a far more mannerly, and brave bird. This bird was skiddish. Visually I knew immediately this isn't my bird.

Charles Wallace is a robust specimen. (Side note, I spelled out specimen like, 6 times and it looked wrong EVERY TIME so I had to look it up. Still looks wrong somehow. 👎)

And, look at those little patches of white on the top of his wings there, by the shoulder. Oh, Charles has them too, but not so cleanly defined like that. Who is this bird and where is Charles Wallace?! What have you done to gain his territory, little birdie?!

And then I'm stuck with a dilema. Do I feed this adorable creature in his stead? Will he find out? Will it be seen as a betrayal?

Screenshot_2018-06-12-07-37-05.png

So... I fed the little #trashmonster. It was a cute thing, darting in and back, kind of like Charles Wallace before he decided to trust me. And then it happened. I didn't have my phone on hand, of course. 😒

The REAL Charles swooped overhead. I heard his anger. CaaaAAAAAW! Oh damn, it went down. Charles Wallace came bustling in and chased that little #trashmonster all the way to Minneapolis (maybe a touch exaggerated).

He came back and look at how he looked at me.

Screenshot_2018-06-12-07-42-29.png

The cold judgemental stare of Charles Wallace. Pretty sure if I had a car, he'd be leaving me "presents" at that point. 😂😂😂

I love this sassy little dude SO MUCH! BAHAHA! So of course I bribed him with some eggs.

But the drama doesn't end there! Edgar made a visit!

Screenshot_2018-06-12-07-46-27.png

We have a sort of, mutual understanding, these two birds and I. Ravens are meaner than Sea Gulls, and I'm pretty sure Edgar is a mama or papa with babies to feed.

So Edgar has chased Charles Wallace off many times. But humans are scarier than Ravens. So, being the intelligent species he or she is, Edgar has learned that Charles Wallace is under my protection.

Edgar is not brave enough to come close to me. So as long as the Raven keeps a respectful distance from me, and by default, Charles Wallace, Edgar can have food too.

It's a dance of intelligence in these birds and I love watching them sort things out.

Yeah, so, that was the drama in the Eggs of Our Lives yesterday. 😂😂😂

I hope you are all having wonderful days!

Sort:  

Sooooo! I just mucked up your stats of ones -- $1.11, 11 votes and 1 comment 😉

Who needs TV when there's so much interaction and happening in the natural world around us. I enjoy your stories and images of the pleasantries you encounter! Thanks for sharing. I hope your days are blessed 💖🌸💖

LMAO Ahmigahds I love your birdie drama! You are their special human alright. Edgar might bring you presents some day - ravens sometimes bring befriended humans shiny gifts.
Charles Wallace is a jealous creature. He wants to be your only seagull. 😁

Very nice dear @hickorymack. Beautiful pictures and amazing post. Thank you for your beautiful pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30